TDU 3 and 4 Breaks and sprints

Stage 3 - A break: Eduard Vorganov (Katusha), Jan Bakelants (RadioShack-Nissan) Thomas de Gendt (Vacansoleil) and Matt Brammeier (Omega Pharma-QuickStep). Bakelants attacks at each intermediate sprints but De Gendt is faster each times, even gives him a friendly poke after the last one. Around, a white bald rocky landscape, the peloton curves on the side of the mountain and the riders descending look like small coloured  candles on a birthdayday cake.
A sprint: all together again toward the finish and Greipel takes them back, stage and jersey. Still breathless but satisfiedly smiling he explains: "It was our intention to keep the breakaway in sight with a good gap The crosswinds have made the race faster. The 1km to go mark was the most important point of today's stage. I told my team-mates ‘I need to be on 5th or 6th position at that point'. They did a great job to put me there and I finished it off. I'm happy to get back into the lead but the time bonus I got again isn't important in my mind." http://www.cyclingnews.com/tourdownunder/stage-3/results 
Martin Kohler is philosophical about the lost of the top position.

1 AndrĂ© Greipel (Ger) Lotto-Belisol 3:21:55  
2 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) FDJ - BigMat    
3 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling    
4 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Rabobank    
5 Robbie Mcewen (Aus) GreenEDGE    
6 Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Astana    
7 Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Garmin-Barracuda    
8 Daniele Bennati (Ita) RadioShack-Nissan    
9 Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale    
10 Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky Procycling
1 AndrĂ© Greipel (Ger) Lotto-Belisol 11:54:52  
2 Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC 0:00:08  
3 Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank 0:00:12  
4 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil -DCM 0:00:14  
5 Simon Gerrans (Aus) GreenEDGE 0:00:16  
6 Jan Bakelants (Bel) RadioShack-Nissan    
7 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling

Stage 4: A break: Jay McCarthy (UniSA), Gatis Smukulis (Kathusa) and Ruben Perez (Euskaltel-Euskadi) gaining a small advantage. Joined by Blel Kadri (AG2R-La Mondiale). A short fight for the KOM points: Rohan Dennis (UniSA) gets 16 for being first and the lead in the classification.Then Javier Moreno,  Simon Gerrans (GreenEdge), Tiago Machado (RadioShack-Nissan), Jack Bauer (Garmin-Barracuda) and Linus Gerdemann (RadioShack-Nissan).
A sprint: the old fox Freire doesn`t tell his last word in cycling. Behinde Cioleck and Bennati are so close that it takes the photofinish to demonstrate RSNT rider is behinde. No matter: good legs are there and Johan Bruyneel tweets to congrats his guy: "Good job coming in 2nd today in . The first win is not far away for the boys of ."
Martin Kohler is philosophical again about his regained leadership: "I didn't expect to be back in the lead but we dropped Andre Greipel in the climb and then we were riding hard to make the gap bigger," said Kohler. "Tomorrow there will be 10 or 15 riders contesting the win at the top of Willunga Hill. It's going to be very hard and I don't know if I can keep this lead or not but I'm already happy with what I'm doing here. Our team BMC feels at home with all the support we get but of course we are the team of Cadel Evans."http://www.cyclingnews.com/tourdownunder/stage-4/results

1 Oscar Freire (Spa) Katusha 3:08:34  
2 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Omega Pharma-QuickStep    
3 Daniele Bennati (Ita) RadioShack-Nissan    
4 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling    
5 Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank
1 Martin Kohler (Sui) BMC 15:03:34  
2 Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank 0:00:02  
3 Oscar Freire (Spa) Katusha    
4 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Omega Pharma-QuickStep 0:00:06  
5 Simon Gerrans (Aus) GreenEDGE 0:00:08  
6 Daniele Bennati (Ita) RadioShack-Nissan    
7 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling    
8 Jan Bakelants (Bel) RadioShack-Nissan    
9 Eduard Vorganov (Rus) Katusha    
10 Rohan Dennis (Aus) UNI SA - Australia 0:00:09  
11 Blel Kadri (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:10  

No comments: