TDU: scrape and scratch

Embedded image permalink
The only 'climb' of the day..
Playing with names. Playing seriously because The Secret of the Name is the name of a book by  Derrida I specially love. Well knowing names and plays are different in different languages and culture. 
In Italian GREIPEL sounds very HARSH, it sounds exactly like a scratch on a vinyl disk. I wonder - because I don't know - if André Greipel is as good as on the road on a scratch track...  
Fascinating chain of links. I wonder about Greipel's chain in those wonderful sprints. I'm not an expert about gears but here we call 'padellone' the bigger one, long, heavy, scaring, meters-devouring. How many meters in how many seconds did he devour this time? For sure he devoured already 100 wins. Bon apetit! but given that 'petit' means also 'small'... for Greipel you should say it's a BIG GOOD meal after such a binge! and very very few is left for all the rest of the bunch of sprinters.
Flashing back: a break had broken. It included Laurent Didier (LUX) - RLT, Frantisek Rabon (CZE) - OPQ, Juraj Sagan (SVK) - CAN and Calvin Watson (AUS) - UNA. Andy Schleck instead had a broken bike... and to change it, sure.  40 km to go the bunch was complete and completely devoted to the sprint. 18 km to go Kohler, Kerby and Kadri went away showing the jersey in the crowed screaming circuit while all LottoBelisol were pulling in front, the Big Gorilla waiting and sweating on his superfast train. Then there was a crash and also Cantwell went down. Up to the finish: Greipel won. Slagter won too: the overall.   
"Very proud" Greipel said "to have the guys supporting me to get the 100th win. Thanks guys for making me looking good! appreciated". With that harsh smile on his face. You can see when André Greipel apreciates! Great race!
RESULTS: Only basic so far! still waiting for more :)
1 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol 1:52:59  
2 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Blanco Pro Cycling Team    
3 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling    
4 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge    
5 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp    
6 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling    
7 Klaas Lodewyck (Bel) BMC Racing Team    
8 Barry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
9 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) AG2R La Mondiale    
10 Kenny Robert van Hummel (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
11 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team    
12 Andrew Fenn (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step    
13 Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky Procycling    
14 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team    
15 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida


DNF Andy Schleck (Lux) RadioShack Leopard
1 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team 18:28:32  
2 Javier Moreno Bazan (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:17  
3 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:00:25  
4 Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:00:32  
5 Ben Hermans (Bel) RadioShack Leopard 0:00:34  
6 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team    
7 Gorka Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:00:36  
8 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre-Merida    
9 Tiago Machado (Por) RadioShack Leopard 0:00:38  
10 Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) FDJ 0:00:41  

 1 Javier Moreno Bazan (Spa) Movistar Team
1 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling
1 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team 18:28:32  
2 Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:00:32  
3 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team 0:00:34  
4 Kenny Elissonde (Fra) FDJ 0:00:54  
5 George Bennett (NZl) RadioShack Leopard 0:01:02  

No comments: