Tour of Qatar: final results and...Barry Markus

Embedded image permalinkSo Mark Cavendish won four sprints in a row: he even crashed but no matter! "Amazing to have a race full of real gentlemen today, who neutralised a close race so I could rejoin the group after crashing. Thanks to all." he tweeted. It has been a beautiful Tour, a Sprinter Paradise like RSNT says in his press release here:
Unfortunately RSNT didn't bring a sprinters team. Tony Gallopin - 13th - is its best and only rider in the final top 20. I saw him often in front but he was almost always alone or sometimes with Markel Irizar. Fabian Cancellara never put his nose in the wind. Facts. They count to do better in Tour of Oman.
BMC already did very well: Taylor Phinney won the youths classification and they put 2 riders on the podium. OPQS showed a complete control of the race. The only sprint they didn't win is the one Cavendish couldn't really disputate. He looks super strong and very very confortable in his new team. Others brilliant sprinters were FDJ Bouhanni, AG2R Hutarovich and GE Kruopis. Not so brilliant Guardini and Viviani. I'm glad to see Sonny Colbrelly 11th today - YES WE LIKE...! - but the real great news of the race is Vacansoleil Barry Markus. Read here his team's press release: 

WARNING: I translated it as I can so... well... the general meaning is right :P Corrections are welcome :D
21 year old Markus sprints three times top 3

After a week of wind, sand and sprinting Tour of Qatar is over. Mark Cavendish won four stages and the overall classification. Vacansoleil-DCM has got too a good reason to smile.

Michel Cornelisse:
'Very positive [sign] that the team has confidence in its sprinters. You can see that by how they ride in the finale. In add you saw today how hard Markus can ride in the last hundred meters: he went close to win and took 3th while Van Hummel was 6th "

Cornelisse is optimistic also about the Tour of Oman: "TTT excluded we had a good week. Markus didn't win but achieved top results: that isn't a surprise for us but people outside didn't know him yet."

21-jarige Markus sprint drie keer top-3

Na een week van wind, zand en sprinten is de Ronde van Qatar afgesloten. Mark Cavendish won vier ritten en het eindklassement. Voor Vacansoleil-DCM was er ook reden tot lachen.

Michel Cornelisse: "Heel positief dat er binnen de ploeg vertrouwen is in de sprinters, dat zie je aan het rijden in de finale. Daarnaast zie je vandaag hoe hard Markus kan rijden in de laatste honderd meter waar hij van ver komt en nog derde wordt met van Hummel op plek 6."

Tevreden reist Cornelisse dan ook door naar de Ronde van Oman: "Buiten de ploegentijdrit hebben we geen slechte week gehad. Markus is hier niet doorgebroken maar heeft wel aansluiting gevonden met de top, voor ons geen verrassing maar voor de buitenwereld wel, ze kennen hem nu."
Embedded image permalink
1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team 2:24:31
2 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) Ag2R La Mondiale
3 Barry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
4 Adam Blythe (GBr) BMC Racing Team
5 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team
6 Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
7 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha
8 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Sky Procycling
9 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ
10 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Cannondale Pro Cycling
11 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani Valvole-CSF Inox
12 Roger Kluge (Ger) Team NetApp-Endura
13 Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ
14 Matt Brammeier (Irl) Champion System Pro Cycling Team
15 Tony Gallopin (Fra) RadioShack Leopard
16 Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff
17 Russell Downing (GBr) Team NetApp-Endura
18 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Astana Pro Team
19 Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling
20 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Orica-GreenEdge
1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team 15:55:20
2 Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:00:25
3 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:00:26
4 Adam Blythe (GBr) BMC Racing Team 0:00:30
5 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Sky Procycling 0:00:32
6 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team
7 Michael Schär (Swi) BMC Racing Team 0:00:35
8 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling 0:00:39
9 Luke Rowe (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:00:40
10 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling
11 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:00:45
12 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team
13 Tony Gallopin (Fra) RadioShack Leopard 0:00:46
14 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha 0:00:48
15 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Orica-GreenEdge 0:00:50
16 Marco Haller (Aut) Katusha
17 Alexander Porsev (Rus) Katusha
18 Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team 0:00:57
19 Baden Cooke (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge 0:00:58
20 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica-GreenEdge
58 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack Leopard 0:03:42
1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team 70  pts
2 Barry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 33
3 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) Ag2R La Mondiale 24
1 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team 15:55:46
2 Adam Blythe (GBr) BMC Racing Team 0:00:04
3 Luke Rowe (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:00:14
4 Tony Gallopin (Fra) RadioShack Leopard 0:00:20
5 Marco Haller (Aut) Katusha 0:00:24
1 BMC Racing Team 47:15:31
2 Sky Procycling 0:00:05
3 Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:00:10

No comments: