Ronde: Fabian Cancellara. Solo.

Embedded image permalink
An easy story. A splendid win. Nothing happened till the last passage on the Oude Kwaremont where the attack were expected and Fabian Cancellara attacked. Sagan and Kwiatosky followed. They quickly joined the last rest of the last break-away,  Jurgen Roelandts. Kwiatosky got quickly dropped. Sagan was on Cancellara's wheel but quickly looked suffering. On the last cobbled climb Cancellara speeded up and Sagan got immediately dropped. End of the story. Less then 20 km to go: a short ITT. 
A big slap to the young Sagan: don't provoke the bear! He was already lucky or good enough to be not reach again by the peloton. Away with Roelandts he won the (no)sprint for the second place while Cancellara - 1km ahead - was already celebrating holding his wife and then one by one all the team staff. 
A great team victory, this time it's true: they kept the race closed and it isn't easy to control a Ronde, the most nervous and thrilling race in cycling. To make complete the job a Cancellara was needed, a man able to pull so hard, to gain so much in so few. He's unique. "Last year I was on the ground, this year I'm here and have won Flanders". That's life. That's a cycling champion.
On the podium he went to shake hands with Sagan and Sagan was smiling pointing him for the ritual pictures, all together on the higher step. "He's the winner". Yes, he is. But I think today Sagan learnt a lesson and also made a friend.
Bravo Roelandts and bravo his team, that made the break-away and got a well deserved podium. Bravo Kristoff who won the peloton sprint. Bravo Oscar Gatto who had two flats but managed to finish 15th. What about my pick Terpstra? he got a mechnic trouble and - I think - retired. What a disaster for OPQS! Chavanel 13th isn't the expected result!
Embedded image permalink

Source  http://www.procyclingstats.com/race/1167801-Tour-de-Flanders-2013
1 CANCELLARA Fabian RadioShack - Leopard100275 6:05:58
2 SAGAN Peter Cannondale Pro Cycling Team80200 1:26
3 ROELANDTS Jurgen Lotto Belisol Team70150 1:28
4 KRISTOFF Alexander Katusha Team60120 1:38
5 LADAGNOUS Matthieu Equipe Cycliste FDJ 50100 1:40
6 HAUSSLER Heinrich IAM Cycling4090 ,,
7 VAN AVERMAET Greg BMC Racing Team3080 ,,
8 TURGOT Sébastien Europcar2070 ,,
9 DEGENKOLB John Team Argos - Shimano1060 ,,
10 LANGEVELD Sebastian Orica GreenEDGE450 ,,
11 BOOM Lars Blanco Pro Cycling Team
46 ,,
12 OSS Daniel BMC Racing Team
42 ,,
13 CHAVANEL Sylvain Omega Pharma - Quick-Step
38 ,,
14 RASCH Gabriel Sky Procycling
34 ,,
15 GATTO Oscar Vini Fantini
30 ,,

No comments: