Vuelta al Pais Vasco 5: Porte

Embedded image permalink
Awful day in rain and snow. Fraile's day because he deserved a win A very young Andy Schleck said "I'd like to live in amountain village in Pais Vasco" I wonder if he remember...
A break away with important names couldn't get more than 1' gap, they were Jon Izagirre, rslt Didier, Rui Costa, Herrada, Moreno, Fuglsang, Silin, Cherel, Talansky and Navarro. Later Amets Txurruka and Omar Fraile attacked from the peloton, joined and passed break. That was a decisive move because Fraile was solo soon ahead the race and the peloton allowed him a larger gap. It was snowing on Barbari's climb, Fraile was giving it all, Kyrienka too pulling a decimated peloton. Many and many riders retired today. Who kept on riding was frozen, couldn't feel his fingers nor warm up his body. In those awful conditions they climbed 10 climbs! Respects to all cyclists because they are amazing.
On the last climb Fraile got caught - but still fighting - and Sanchez attacked making a strong selections. A small group was in front and amongh them Richie Porte won.
Best rslt rider has been Monfort: 15  while Busche finished 16. I saw a few times Andy Schleck in the peloton but  he abandoned at the feed zone. RSLT report says: "Prior to that he had to chase back on twice after a puncture and then a gear problem that required a bike change."

Source http://www.procyclingstats.com/race/1167851-Vuelta-Ciclista-al-Pais-Vasco-2013-Stage-5-Eibar-Beasain
1 PORTE Richie Sky Procycling
50 4:40:43
2 SANCHEZ GONZALEZ Samuel Euskaltel - Euskadi
30 0:04
3 HENAO MONTOYA Sergio Luis Sky Procycling
18 ,,
4 QUINTANA ROJAS Nairo Alexander Movistar Team
13 ,,
5 WEENING Pieter Orica GreenEDGE
10 ,,
6 GADRET John AG2R La Mondiale
7 ,,
7 CONTADOR VELASCO Alberto Team Saxo-Tinkoff
4 ,,
8 SPILAK Simon Katusha Team
3 ,,
9 ULISSI Diego Lampre - Merida
2 0:20
10 CARUSO Giampaolo Katusha Team
1 ,,
11 BETANCUR GOMEZ Carlos Alberto AG2R La Mondiale

12 POELS Wout Vacansoleil - DCM

13 DANIELSON Thomas Garmin - Sharp

14 FRAILE MATARRANZ Omar Caja Rural-Seguros RGA

15 MONFORT Maxime RadioShack - Leopard

16 BUSCHE Matthew RadioShack - Leopard

17 FARIA DA COSTA Rui Alberto Movistar Team

18 CUNEGO Damiano Lampre - Merida

19 VELITS Peter Omega Pharma - Quick-Step

20 KREUZIGER Roman Team Saxo-Tinkoff

No comments: