Paris-Nice 2: Heros of the day (and not)

Heros of the day:
1. Moreno Hofland of course: he sprinted to the victory on classy contenders like Degenkolband and Bouhanni in a very nervous final. "I was in a wrong position" he said "then managed to take the wheel of Degenkolband" Breathless and happy he said the GC isn't his aim... but lets see. 
2. Aleksejs Saramontins: all day in the break-away, he kept fighting solo till 3 km to the line. 
3. Gianni Meersman: OPQS strategy was to collect as many points as possible at the intermediate sprints and it was working very well. Unfortunately Meersman got caught in a crash 10 km to go and had to chase. To be honest his team car gave him more than an help...  
In my opinion the Jury is right to close one eye in crash and mechanical cases. He got a big support but also showed to have legs and determination. 
Andy water carrier
NOT SO:  he got a fee of 1'10". Rules are rules.
Another bad day for Andy Schleck: he lost 6'46'' :( Waiting to know what happened, for sure he was a the back.
Better Frank Schleck, who finished at only 18'' from the winner. 

Kim Andersen about Andy Schleck:
“Andy [Schleck] is not here as one of our leaders, that was never planned. He is not in good enough form yet, as he is missing race days. He did a lot of work for the team today, going back often to get bottles. His motivation is good."

1 Moreno Hofland (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 4:53:46
2 John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano
3 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ.fr
4 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha
5 Thor Hushovd (Nor) BMC Racing Team
6 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar
7 Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement
8 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Belisol
9 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica GreenEdge
10 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team
1 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ.fr 8:46:43
2 John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano 0:00:02
3 Moreno Hofland (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team 0:00:04
4 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 0:00:13
5 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar 0:00:14
6 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:14
7 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha 0:00:14
8 Nikolay Trusov (Rus) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:14
9 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:14
10 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica GreenEdge 0:00:14

No comments: