Giro d'Italia 8: A Great Trek Factory Racing, and a great Diego Ulissi

Today Trek Factory Racing made the race and no matter if the winner is again a wonderful Diego Ulissi. In the break with Julian Arredondo - on the last climb still solo on the road - and finally 2nd with Robert Kiserlovski. Best team yesterday, always on the frame. 
Pierre Rolland raced agressively but it was a stage very hard to interpretate: many climbs not too hard. A selection happened but in the end the peloton came back and the final fight was among the main contenders of this Giro.
So turn it on and watch: there is a large break-away including Arredondo, Boasson Hagen, Bandiera, Pirazzi, Vorganov, Quintero, Finetto, Cattaneo, Quemeneur and Petit. On the climb - Cippo di Carpegna - Julian Arredondo attacks, crests solo and resists in the technical descent.
Behind the bunch splits: the Pink Jersey Matthew – he'll lost a lot today – and Scarponi get dropped, in front Cadel Evans with Morabito and Pozzovivo with Villermoz, Montaguti and Dupont, Wilco Kelderman, Cunego, Ulissi, Siutsou, Aru, Kiserovski, Ryder Hesjedal and Pierre Rolland.
The Frenchman attacks the peloton and joins the first chassing group including Boasson Hagen, Quemeneur and Pirazzi. 17 km to go Boasson Hagen leaves the company and follows Arredondo solo on the second climb - Villaggio del Lago - but was shortly caught.
Pirazzi and Rolland kept going. Then Rolland solo on a big gear. Atop the last KOM Arredondo still has 1'. Montecopiolo waits the finish. Arredondo looks tired, Rolland too. BMC pulls the front group. 2 km to go Rolland joins Arredondo. Selection behind: Ulissi is there, Cunego got dropped. Rolland goes solo. Morabito smashes the field for Cadel Evans. Arredondo is caught and attacks start. Dani Moreno, then Kiserlovski, then Diego Ulissi. The peloton swallows Rolland and it's the finale.
Ulissi comes out Kiserlovski's wheel and wins. 3rd a great Wilco Kelderman.
Cadel Evan is the new race leader.


1.Diego Ulissi 
2.Robert Kiserlovski 
3.Wilco Kelderman

1 Evans 
3. Majka

No comments: