Tour de Suisse 3: A Sprint on Power for Peter Sagan

Some stages are to be interpretated and this one was one of those stages. Fast, very fast. Some climb and some descent, some flat as well and a finish that on paper was uphill but looked good for sprinters, if they can survive till there. 
A break-away could be an option but the peloton didn't let it really go. Kohler (BMC) and Kruijswijk (BEL) never gained a good gap and got caught about 80 km to go. 6o km to go a second break formed, including Schurter, Didier, Wyss and Thurau. They were working well together but OPQS kept it on control: their advantage was just 40" 50 km to go so it was very easy to jump from the peloton.
Thurau got dropped first.  Agnoli attacked fron the group and joined, followed by  Van der Sande. Didier was struggling and got finally caught. Agnoli went solo 22 km to go but  Schurter, Wyss and Van der Sande weren't far. Back together,  Van der Sande attacked in the fast descent and gained a gap. Agnoli was chasing solo but crashed: went straight into the grass. No consequences but no way to get back to the front. 
Behind Wyss and Schurter got caught. Van der Sande was blasting on the descent and giving all in the killing flat but it wasn't enough. All together 7 km to go - but many sprinters dropped and unable to fight for the win - they started the final climb and Cadel Evans set a sudden attack. Re-assorbed, it was a sprint, but on power more than on speed: Sagan won on Albasini and Sergio Henao.



1 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale 5:22:09
2 Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica Greenedge
3 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Team Sky
4 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team
5 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team
6 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team
7 Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida
8 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr
9 Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling
10 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo
 66 Andy Schleck (Lux) Trek Factory Racing                                  0:01:29
1 Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 10:44:33
2 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano 0:00:06
3 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale 0:00:14
4 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team 0:00:17
5 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Garmin Sharp 0:00:23
6 Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale 0:00:27
7 Ion Izagirre Insausti (Spa) Movistar Team
8 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:28
9 Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling 0:00:29
10 Mattia Cattaneo (Ita) Lampre-Merida
50 Andy Schleck (Lux) Trek Factory Racing 0:02:19  

1Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale41 pts
1 Bjorn Thurau (Ger) Team Europcar 60  pts
1 Mathias Frank (Swi) IAM Cycling
1 Team Giant-Shimano

No comments: