Tour de France 20: Il Sorpasso (The Overtaking)

Embedded image permalink
Tony Martin
It should be boring a Tour de France dominated by just one rider, moreover a time trial dominated by Tony Martin. 
The Sharck didn't win today, was 'only' 4th, behind superspecialists like Martin, Demoulin and Barta. Today Tony Martin passed four riders.
Instead it has been thrilling because of the French duel for the 2nd place in Paris. Perraud won in spite he had to change his bike. And Pinot beated Valverde for the 3rd place. Or better: Valverde beated himself by a crappy performance.
Embedded image permalink
Peraud had to change his bike
Van Garderen did way better than Mollema and Ten Dam so passed them in the final GC, but they still are in the top ten, while Pierre Rolland and Frank Schleck are just out. Zubeldia 8th. Not bad for Trek Factory Racing! 
Embedded image permalink
He's 2nd!
Quite bad for Team Sky: best finisher is Danny Pate, 11th, while Mikel Nieve is the higher in the final GC, 18th. Bravo Brice Feillu who's going to give Bretagne a 16th in Paris. 
Amazing ride by Leo Konig: 5th! He's finally 7th in the final GC.
I watched it in front of a bar. It was raining cats and dogs so my son's race had been cacealed and everybody, little riders in first, where eager to see Vincenzo Nibali in yellow. "He's Vincenzo! He's Vincenzo!" were screaming the tiny voices. People stopped to watch.
Embedded image permalink
...hard to realise!
Maybe cycling will be popular again in the country of Coppi and Bartali...

Embedded image permalink
Vincenzo Nibali 'only' 4th

1 Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 1:06:21  
2 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano 0:01:39  
3 Jan Barta (Cze) Team Netapp-Endura 0:01:47
4 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:01:58  
5 Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Netapp-Endura 0:02:02
6 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:02:08  
7 Jean-Christophe Péraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:02:27  
8 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling 0:02:36  
9 Markel Irizar Arranburu (Spa) Trek Factory Racing 0:02:39  
10 Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:02:58  
11 Danny Pate (USA) Team Sky 0:03:01
12 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr 0:03:12  
13 Martin Elmiger (Swi) IAM Cycling
14 Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Cannondale 0:03:13  
15 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica Greenedge 0:03:23
16 Peter Velits (Svk) BMC Racing Team 0:03:24
17 Nelson Oliveira (Por) Lampre - Merida 0:03:30
18 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team 0:03:35
19 Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica Greenedge 0:03:38
20 Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Astana Pro Team 0:03:44
1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 86:37:52  
2 Jean-Christophe Péraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:07:52  
3 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr 0:08:24  
4 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team 0:09:55  
5 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:11:44  
6 Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:11:46  
7 Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Netapp-Endura 0:14:41  
8 Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) Trek Factory Racing 0:18:12  
9 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling 0:18:20  
10 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling 0:21:24
11 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar 0:23:16
12 Frank Schleck (Lux) Trek Factory Racing 0:25:57  
13 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto-Belisol 0:34:01
14 Yury Trofimov (Rus) Team Katusha 0:36:50
15 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling 0:38:15
16 Brice Feillu (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement 0:43:59
17 Christopher Horner (USA) Lampre - Merida 0:44:46
18 Mikel Nieve Iturralde (Spa) Team Sky 0:46:40
19 John Gadret (Fra) Movistar Team 0:47:30
20 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team 0:52:11
21 Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale 0:58:00  
22 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 0:59:29  
23 Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky 1:00:35
24 Jan Bakelants (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 1:06:11
25 Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar 1:08:56
26 Michael Rogers (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo 1:17:43
27 Peter Velits (Svk) BMC Racing Team 1:19:53
28 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 1:20:49  
29 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto-Belisol 1:28:28
30 Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ.fr 1:32:31

No comments: