Tour de France 8: Blel Kadri

View this content on Daily Mail Online's websiteAll day on the attack. The attacker, the breaker. All day in the rain. A baby smile on the line on a tired old face. Riders get old early as they still remain children inside, playful, audacious, believing in their destiny. They go taking their win, very often disappointed but never losing their faith. Some break-aways are to show the jersey, some riders know the peloton will let them go. Some others are for glory and some riders know they must earn their go because in the group there are many interests, pro and contra, especially in a big tour, where a win can change a life. You can break-away and spend all day in front, in the light spot. You can compete for the Red Number, the combactivity award, and that's enough to keep you going, to shut up legs. But Blel Kadri is not such a rider, he's a rider who wants more. Points for the Polka Dot Jersey for istance, so precarious now on the shoulders of an outstanding Lemoins who addmited: "I'm tired". The stage victory. The victory at the end of the stage. Blel Kadri is a rider who wins stages. He can see it through the rain, the final line. Today maybe. You must try to succeed. You must believe you can make miracle as others make cakes. Breakers are miracles specialists. Blel Kadri is the last one from the break-away and is French, that's still matter on the Tour, because he can feel all the road pushing him, people shutting his name in a familiar accent, he can understand words. Behind there is another French rider, Sylvain Chavanel. But Kadri is riding in a French team while Chavanel went abroad many years ago, Belgium, then Switzerland. Chavanel is a stronger rider on paper, but Kadri is a best climber. He has studied the route, he has thought: "If I manage to brea-away... If just I can be solo on that last climbs, in the finale..." You must believe you can.

Cameras can't stay on Kadri because behind GC riders are at the first showdown. Cameras must stay on him because a French victory, because all his team mates are going to hold him down the podium. On his way to the win his ds almost made him fall taking his hand. Tears or rain on his face while rising his skinny arms?  

1Blel Kadri (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale3:49:28 
2Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo0:02:17 
3Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:02:20 
4Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky0:02:24 
5Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr0:02:28 
6Jean-Christophe Péraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
7Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team0:02:36 
8Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team0:02:40 
9Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:02:48 
10Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling0:02:54
1Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team33:48:52 
2Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team0:01:44 
3Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky0:01:58 
4Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quick Step0:02:26 
5Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team0:02:27 
6Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo0:02:34 
7Romain Bardet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:02:39 
8Rui Alberto Costa (Por) Lampre - Merida0:02:52 
9Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling0:03:02 
10Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto-Belisol  
11Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto-Belisol0:03:27 
12Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr0:03:32 
13Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team0:03:34 
14Jean-Christophe Péraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:03:37 
15Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky0:03:54 
16Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin - Sharp0:04:22 
17Yury Trofimov (Rus) Team Katusha0:04:38 
18Mikel Nieve Iturralde (Spa) Team Sky0:05:09 
19Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling0:05:44 
20Tiago Machado (Por) Team Netapp-Endura0:06:08 
21Christopher Horner (USA) Lampre - Merida0:06:12 
22Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) Trek Factory Racing0:06:53 
23Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar0:07:34 
24Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Netapp-Endura0:07:35 
25Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar0:08:11 
26Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team0:08:13 
27Brice Feillu (Fra) Bretagne - Seche Environnement0:10:23 
28Frank Schleck (Lux) Trek Factory Racing0:10:43 
29Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling0:11:20 
30Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano0:11:35
Peter sagan
Blel Kadri
Michal Kwiatowski
1Astana Pro Team101:30:53 
2Belkin Pro Cycling0:05:23 
3Team Sky0:05:31

No comments: