La Vuelta 17: Break Chase Sprint (Degenkolb)

Embedded image permalink
At dawn toward today finish Pic by Manel Lacambra
Not an exciting stage, unless you insanely thought that maybe the break could stay away. That was one for sprinters and sprinters took it. That was one for Degenkolb.
For the record, the break-away was: Dennis, Favilli, Jungels, Más Bonet and Teklehaimanot.
The road wasn't straight or flat so, at least, the chase had some interest, especially when Team Sky went all in front as if Chris Froome wanted to sprint himsef. Another time...
At the sprint Degenkolb won on Matthew with a curious move by TFR: Cancellara led out the young Stuyven but he didn't take off... or Cancellara didn't let him or he couldn't get off his wheel. Anyway: Cancellara 3rd and Stuyven 4th.
Bob Jungels was awarded as the Most Combactive Rider.
Uran didn't start: he's sick and we noticed it. As well as Knees and Zubeldia.
Today story in the peloton was about Deignan who said Rodriguez punched him... If you are interested, it's here:

John Degenkolb:
“It looked easy but it really wasn’t today. We had to work really hard for it, harder than the other days. We did everything for a sprint today and it turned out to be the right decision.
It’s the fourth victory form strong teamwork, and everybody can see that the spirit is very good in our team.
t was a hard final, but we looked at the last 10km yesterday and today everything worked out as we had planned it on the rest day. There are not so many opportunities anymore for sprints but for sure I will help to defend the top ten place of Warren. Friday may be an opportunity for me if I can survive the climbs and I will do my best to defend the green jersey.”



1 John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano 4:26:07  
2 Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica Greenedge  
3 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing  
4 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek Factory Racing  
5 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
6 Koldo Fernandez (Spa) Garmin Sharp  
7 Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) FDJ.fr  
8 Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team  
9 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale  
10 Vicente Reynes Mimo (Spa) IAM Cycling
1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo 67:51:07  
2 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:36  
3 Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky 0:01:39  
4 Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Team Katusha 0:02:29  
5 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:03:38  
6 Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin Sharp 0:06:17  
7 Robert Gesink (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team 0:06:43  
8 Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team 0:06:55  
9 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Shimano 0:08:37  
10 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale 0:09:10  


No comments: