La Vuelta 19: Adam Hansen as The New Jensie!

Embedded image permalinkYes he is! Stunning victory by the Lotto-Belisol rider not new to actions like that.
There was a break-away: Laurent Mangel (FDJ.fr), Pim Ligthart (Lotto Belisol) and Wouter Poels (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) but they got caught before the first climb, 20 km to go. There Astana's Lutshenko attacked and reached the top solo. In the descent Samuel Sanchez got a small gap but got easily caught in the flat. 
Team Sky was all in front when unfortunately Dario Catldo badly crashed. He was motionless beside the road. His back wheel had slid out. Not a nice vuew. I'm waiting update my fingers crossed.
Meanwhile Lutshenko got caught and from a messy series of attacks Adam Hansen emerged. He took a gap and kept it till the line that he crossed: victorious.

Team Sky:
"Great news that @DarioCataldo is back on his bike and trying to finish the stage. He'll be monitored by the team and we'll update later"
And he made it to the finish indead!! thanks god!!
"After the stage Sports Director Dario Cioni confirmed that Cataldo had gone to the hospital to be checked over."

Adam Hansen:
“I would have been very high odds to win this stage, that’s for sure. I wanted to do something today and the steep climb beforehand probably took something out of the sprinters. The attacking in the finale started earlier than I wanted but I went with it and then I went out alone.”

John Degenkolb:
“It was a great ride by the team again. We didn’t succeed in getting the fifth win but we took responsibility well and took our opportunity and got some more important points. We got a lot of respect from the bunch today as we didn’t get much help but the guys still controlled it well. Hopefully it will be enough of an advantage over Valverde to hold on to the green jersey to the end and to reward the team for their hard work. Tomorrow will be another hard day and I’ll do what I can to help Warren again.”

Team Sky DS Dario Cioni:
"It was meant to be an easier day today. Obviously with a tough climb like that at the finish we wanted to make sure we were able to control it. We didn’t want anyone to attack so we opted to set a good tempo, rather than sit back and have to chase later.
We’re heading into the final two stages now. The time trial on Sunday is so short that it will only be possible to move position if the gaps are really small. That means tomorrow is the last day to really get everything out. It should be a really exciting stage."

Team Tinkoff-Saxo DS Steven De Jongh:

“I think it was a good day for us without any problems. Once again, the start of the stage was very fast. After that, a group went away and Giant-Shimano took control, trying to win the stage with Degenkolb. At the end, Adam Hansen attacked and got a well-deserved victory. For Tinkoff-Saxo it was a good ride. On the climb we were where we wanted to be. We suffered no crashes and I really hope Cataldo is doing fine. Now, it is all up for tomorrow.”

Team TFR about Bob Jungels' abandon:
"ungels has been struggling for days with a severe saddle sore and the team’s doctor finally decided that pushing further could jeopardize the rest of his season, including the World Championships. It’s disappointing for Jungels to not complete his first ever Grand Tour, but there is no doubt the young 21-year-old Luxembourger will have many more in his future."


1 Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto Belisol 4:21:58  
2 John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano 0:00:05  
3 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
4 Yannick Martinez (Fra) Team Europcar  
5 Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica Greenedge  
6 Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) FDJ.fr  
7 Paul Martens (Ger) Belkin Pro Cycling Team  
8 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek Factory Racing  
9 Romain Hardy (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
10 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale
1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo 76:00:40  
2 Christopher Froome (GBr) Team Sky 0:01:19  
3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:32  
4 Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Team Katusha 0:02:29  
5 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:03:15  
6 Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin Sharp 0:06:52  
7 Samuel Sanchez (Spa) BMC Racing Team 0:06:59  
8 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Giant-Shimano 0:09:12  
9 Daniel Navarro Garcia (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:09:44  
10 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale 0:09:45  
11 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Team Katusha 0:12:49  
12 Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Team Sky 0:14:15  
13 Romain Sicard (Fra) Team Europcar 0:18:15  
14 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team 0:20:05  
15 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Team Katusha 0:21:55  
16 Maxime Monfort (Bel) Lotto Belisol 0:22:10  
17 Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) MTN - Qhubeka 0:22:33  
18 Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:30:16  
19 Dominik Nerz (Ger) BMC Racing Team 0:31:51  

20 David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA 0:39:03

No comments: