Cyclocross: In Short (and translated) - Waiting for Valkenburg

Pic by Dirk Bruylant 

There is an article here

In Short (and translated):

1.World Cup Kicks Off on the CaubergLast year Lars van der Haar won here on Sven Nys, thanks to his good legs and also to Nys' bad luck. A Dutch winner on Dutch soil: epic! Kevin Pauwels and Philipp Walsleben completed the podium.
2.Hard Race:  The Cauberg Cross is a relatively new race, only included in the World Cup since 2013, and a tough one, featuring steep climbs and technical descents. It requires strength and concetration. 
3. Sven Nys: He had won in 2012 but had a lot bad luck last year, when a fall, two flat tires and a broken chain forced him to pull off. Sunday he's going to start, in spite of the illness that prevented him to not race in Ardooie. It's reported to have been "a nausea due to a momentary disruption of the vestibular system". It doesn't sound good but it could have no consequences at all so Nys remains one of the favourites, with van der Haar.
4.The new UCI rules instead have consequences, notably the fact that Belgium is allowed to bring a lot of riders, 12 to be exact: Jens Adams, Bart Aernouts, Jim Aerbouts, Ben Berden, Sven Nys, Bart Wellens, Klaas Vantornout, Kevin Pauwels, Tom Meeusen, Rob Peeters, Tim Merlier and Gianni Vermeersch. 
5. At the start (and not): Francis Mourey will be there too, aiming for the podium. Mathieu van der Poel and Wout Van Aert instead will not take part in the Elite race.

As far for me I obviously support Lars van der Haar: 
GO Lars van der 
(and make my day!)

No comments: