Cyclocross: Bad luck for Lars Van der Haar in BPost Hasselt, Kevin Pauwels wins...

Embedded image permalink...on Wout Van Aert after a long thrilling duel.
Sunny and moderately sandy, a fast race. Lars Van der Haar was looking strong but got a flat at the wrong moment so had to chase and even crashed against a barrier in the jumping section. It's almost incredible that he finished on 5th place, just behind the first chasing group of Tom Meeusen and Sven Nys. That makes me think that he had legs to win and it's a pity.
For sure Kevin Pauwels was in a wonderful shape. The young Van Aert confirmed his talent, getting dropped by the winner only in the last lap. Brilliant Tom Meeusen and also his team mate Van Kessel who was leading early in the race but fell where it was to jump... Not jumping costed probably the race to Van Aert: he runs, afraid after a bad crash in the junior cathegory it seems...
Klaas Vantornout retired.
The birds flying on the green lake looked absolutely indifferent to the humans' thrill.

Lars van der Haar:
"Oef... Not happy about today in Hasselt. 5th after a puncture far from the pit and two dumb crashes. Need help jumping barriers! Now Spain!"
Ilaria: "Two crashes? I have seen only one..."
Lars: "Two times the barrières. 1 time wasn't a full crash. And then 1 lap later a full one over the Steering. With bike in my back. :( "
Ilaria: "Ouch :( next one better!"
"Going to Spain this week with my new team mates of the @GiantShimano roadcrew. Looking forward to get to know them all, during the rides! :) "

1 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team  
2 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team  
3 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team  
4 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan - AA Drink Team  
5 Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Giant-Shimano Development Team  
6 Corné Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team  
7 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan - AA Drink Team  
8 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team  
9 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team  
10 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team  
11 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team  
12 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team  
13 Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team  
14 Joeri Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team  
15 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Project Cross Racing  
16 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team  
17 Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continentaal Team  
18 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team  
19 Patrick Gaudy (Bel) Veranclassic-Doltcini Cycling Team  
20 Radomir Simunek (Cze) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team  
21 Stephen Hyde (USA)  
22 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team  
23 Clement Lhotellerie (Fra)  
24 Patrick Van Leeuwen (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team  
25 Martin Bina (Cze) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team  
26 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) CCN - Metalac Cycling team  
27 Christoph Ambroziak (Ger)  
28 Markus Schulte-Luenzum (Ger)  
29 Ramon Sagues Portabella (Spa)  
30 Fabian Obrist (Swi)

No comments: