Cyclocross: Keep Calm and Win! Lars van der Haar Solo in Zolder

Embedded image permalinkNo story race: Lar van der Haar went away 7 laps to go and remained solo till the finish. Only one thrilling moment, 3 laps to go, when his chain went off: he kept calm and fixed it.
Behind, no story as well: Kevin Pauwels was the only serious contender: he tried to bridge but couldn't catch Van der Haar. In the chasing group the fight was for 3rd and Van Kessel won.
Bravo Lars!! HAPPY!!

Lars Van der Haar:
“It was a beautiful victory today, and luck was on my side this time. I have been in a good shape recently and I felt strong and was able to finish it off. I saw an opportunity when Kevin Pauwels was behind and there were four of us ahead. I hoped that the group could work together but that didn’t happen so, I thought I would just go for myself with a big attack. I don’t normally do this type of attack but it worked.
It was a hard race, hard at places where you did not expected it, and if you are alone it was even harder. On one point I thought that Kevin come back to me, but I heard that he was also suffering behind so I gave everything and could take some more time on him and that worked out, gave me confidence to finish it off.”

Kevin Pauwels: 
"Today Van Der Haar was stronger. I am satisfied with my second place."

Tom Meeusen:
"I also wonder what was going on. I have no explanation for it. The warming and everything went well. But when the race started, already at the first lap, it was completely over for me, immediately. "


1 Lars VAN DER HAAR NED 23 1:08:11
2 Kevin PAUWELS BEL 30 1:08:56
3 Corne VAN KESSEL NED 23 1:09:20
4 Julien TARAMARCAZ SUI 27 1:09:21
5 Philipp WALSLEBEN GER 27 1:09:37
6 David VAN DER POEL NED 22 1:09:41
7 Gianni VERMEERSCH BEL 22 1:09:44
8 Sascha WEBER GER 26 1:09:45
9 Martin BINA CZE 31 1:09:45
10 Jens ADAMS BEL 22 1:09:49
11 Rob PEETERS BEL 29 1:09:58
12 Marcel MEISEN GER 25 1:10:11
13 Tim MERLIER BEL 22 1:10:18
14 Bart WELLENS BEL 36 1:10:18
15 Jim AERNOUTS BEL 25 1:10:19
16 Simon ZAHNER SUI 31 1:10:25
17 Tom MEEUSEN BEL 26 1:11:27
18 Jeremy POWERS USA 31 1:11:41
19 Fabien CANAL FRA 25 1:11:51
20 Tomas PAPRSTKA CZE 22 1:11:58
21 Niels Wubben (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:03:55  
22 Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga Ibanez (Spa) 0:03:56  
23 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Project Cross Racing 0:04:13  
24 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team 0:04:29  
25 Bryan Falaschi (Ita) Selle Italia Guerciotti 0:04:30  
26 Ole Quast (Ger) 0:04:36  
27 Michael Boros (Cze) CEZ Cyklo Team Tabor  
28 Lubomir Petrus (Cze) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team 0:04:46  
29 Martin Haring (Svk) 0:05:10  
30 Clement Lhotellerie (Fra) 0:05:38  
31 Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) 0:05:56  
32 Kenneth Hansen (Den) 0:05:59  
33 Marcel Wildhaber (Swi) Scott- Odlo MTB Racing Team 0:06:12  
34 Matej Lasak (Cze) 0:06:38  
35 Twan Van Den Brand (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team 0:06:43  
36 Josep Betalu (Spa) 0:06:52  
37 Alois Falenta (Fra) 0:06:53  
38 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike 0:07:10  
39 Flavien Dassonville (Fra) BIGMAT - AUBER 93  
40 Ismael Felix Barba Frutos (Spa)  
41 Yu Takenouchi (Jpn)  
42 Agustin Navarro Vidal (Spa)  
43 Aaron Schooler (Can) Focus CX Team  
44 Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro Cyclocross  
45 Asier Arregui Dominguez (Spa)  
46 Yannick Mayer (Ger)  
47 Ramon Sagues Portabella (Spa)  
48 Angus Edmond (NZl)  
49 Mark Mcconnell (Can)  
50 Ulrich Theobald (Ger)  
51 Arnau Rota Cano (Spa)  
52 Garry Millburn (Aus)  

53 Asier Urdaibai Erauzkin (Spa)

No comments: