Cyclocross: An Off Camber Traverse

Embedded image permalink
Namur Mon Amour...
An easy rhyme for an hard race: technical and brutal. Tough climbs, a tough descent and moreover a nasty off camber traverse: exactly there the race has been won, when Lars Van der Haar made a few mistakes and Kevin Pauwels dropped him from his wheel.
But lets start from the start: Namur is an intimidating, crazy race, something like the assoult to a fortress. Well, yes, just that.
The top riders approached it with respect and for the first laps there was Sach aWeber in front with Wildhaber. Then Meeusen attacked and made a huge selection: only four remained in front: Meeusen, Van der Haar, Pauwels and Van Kessel.
Four laps to go Walsleben bridged from the chasing group. Van der Haar decided it was time to go solo. Three laps to go Pauwels managed to join, while Walsleben dropped Van Kessel, then Meeusen and kept pulling, closer and closer.
At this point strategy counts: Van der Haar tried to drop Pauwels but couldn't so decided to stay on his wheel. They crossed the line together at the last lap and Pauwels wasn't happy because Van der Haar wasn't collaborating and Walsleben was very close. 
The last lap was frantic. Van der Haar still glued to Pauwels' wheel. But on that off camber traverse he had rocked in the previous laps he did too many mistakes and Pauwels went solo. Till the line.

Kevin Pauwels:
“Before the off-camber section I looked back and noticed I had a small gap on Lars. I rode it well and I was gone. It’s looking good for the World Cup with two races left that suit me well.”

Lars van der Haar:
"No win but a second in WC Namur. Happy or not happy, undecided. Mud in the eyes last lap, couple of misstakes and he was gone. #that'scross"

1 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team 1:07:43  
2 Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Development Team Giant-Shimano 0:00:10  
3 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) Bkcp - Powerplus 0:00:19  
4 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet - Fidea 0:01:24  
5 Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet - Fidea 0:01:38  
6 Marcel Wildhaber (Swi) Scott-Odlo Mtb Racing Team 0:01:46  
7 Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Continental Team 0:02:05  
8 Jens Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Continental Team 0:02:10  
9 Sascha Weber (Ger) Veranclassic - Doltcini 0:02:24  
10 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) Corendon - Kwadro 0:02:30  
11 Francis Mourey (Fra) Fdj.Fr 0:02:31  
12 David Van Der Poel (Ned) Bkcp - Powerplus 0:02:37  
13 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Corendon - Kwadro 0:03:21  
14 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Corendon - Kwadro 0:03:28  
15 Fabien Canal (Fra) Look - Beaumes De Venise 0:03:33  
16 Jeremy Powers (USA) 0:03:34  
17 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:03:41  
18 Jonathan Page (USA) 0:03:56  
19 Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Cycling Team 0:04:00  
20 Simon Zahner (Swi) 0:04:01  
21 Lubomir Petrus (Cze) Bkcp - Powerplus 0:04:04  
22 Tim Merlier (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:04:07  
23 Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga Ibanez (Spa) 0:04:08  
24 Michael Boros (Cze) 0:04:22  
25 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet - Fidea 0:04:29  
26 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:04:42  
27 Tomas Paprstka (Cze) Remerx-Merida Team Kolin 0:04:58  
28 Niels Wubben (Ned) Telenet - Fidea 0:05:08  
29 Andreas Moser (Swi) 0:05:09  
30 Aitor Hernandez Gutierrez (Spa)  
31 Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Telenet - Fidea 0:05:36  
32 Ian Field (GBr) 0:05:59  
33 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Corendon - Kwadro 0:06:09  
34 Severin Saegesser (Swi) 0:06:13  
35 Vladimir Kyzivat (Cze) 0:06:31  
36 Lukas Winterberg (Swi) 0:06:44  
37 Ole Quast (Ger) -1Lap  
38 Martin Haring (Svk) Ck Banska Bystrica  
39 ClĂ©ment Lhotellerie (Fra)  
40 Kenneth Hansen (Den)  
41 Twan Van Den Brand (Ned) Cyclingteam Jo Piels  
42 Josep Betalu (Spa) -2Laps  
43 Radomir Simunek (Cze) Corendon - Kwadro  
44 Michael Schweizer (Ger)  
45 Marco Bianco (Ita)  
46 Michael Wildhaber (Swi) -3Laps  
47 Joachim Parbo (Den)  
48 Aaron Schooler (Can)  
49 Yu Takenouchi (Jpn) Veranclassic - Doltcini -4Laps  
50 Agustin Navarro Vidal (Spa)  
51 Matej Lasak (Cze) -5Laps  
52 Mark Mcconnell (Can)  
53 Ramon Sagues Portabella (Spa)  
54 Angus Edmond (NZl)  
55 Garry Millburn (Aus)  
56 Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum P/B Kelly Benefit Strategies  
57 Robert Marion (USA)

No comments: