Mallorca Challenge - Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana: One for the Climbers

Embedded image permalinkSeven climbs today: Coll den Claret (4th cat), Coll de Galilea (3rd cat), Coll des Grau (4th cat), Coll d'Honor (2nd cat), Coll de sa Batalla (2nd cat), Coll de Puig Major (2nd cat) and Coll den Bleda (3rd cat). 
Embedded image permalink
Cesare Benedetti crashed
A large break. A crash and Cesare Benedetti abandones. Bad new for Trek Factory Racing: Bauke Mollema is also involved in the crash, but he's back on bike and racing, Fabio Silvestre had to stop instead.
Rory Sutherland also crashed on the descent of the Coll d'En Claret (Cat-3), after just 17km and fractured his left collarbone.
Team Sky goes in front and the break is caught.
A new break, with Alejandro Valverde. Linus Gerdemann attacks and goes solo but the chasing group follows at only 30", the peloton is at 1'10". It's a fluid situation and on the Coll de Sa Batalla Valverde and Kudus are in front. 40 km to go. Paterski and Terpstra are chasing, the peloton follows at 45". 30 km to go Valverde drops Kudus and keeps increasing his advantage. The peloton follows at 2'20".
Embedded image permalink
Team Sky pulling
New riders try to bridge to Kudus, including Tiesj Benoot and Tim Wellens
13 km to go Alejandro Valverde is leading for 2' on  Konig and Wellens. On the last climb of the day Wellens drops Konig and goes solo, but Valverde is already in the last 5 km. And he obviously wins.
Embedded image permalink
Merhawi Kudus:
"I felt really good today. On the climbs I was also very comfortable and relaxed the whole day. It's unfortunate because I just couldn't follow Valverde on the descent. In the end I had to settle for 10th but I am happy with today's performance and also to with the most combative prize as well." 

1 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 4:34:29  
2 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:01:23  
3 Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Sky 0:01:33  
4 Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa) Movistar Team 0:02:10  
5 Marc De Maar (Ned) Team Roompot  
6 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team 0:02:53  
7 Grega Bole (Slo) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
8 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
9 Frank Schleck (Lux) Trek Factory Racing  
10 Kudus Merhawi (Eri) MTN-Qhubeka  
11 Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team 0:02:56  
12 Egoitz Garcia (Spa) Murias Taldea 0:03:12  
13 Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team 0:03:47
14 Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice 0:07:17  
15 Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek Factory Racing 0:08:19  
16 Mike Terpstra (Ned) Team Roompot  
17 Antonio Molina (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
18 Angelo Tulik (Fra) Team Europcar  
19 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Cult Energy Pro Cycling  
20 Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
21 Pawel Bernas (Pol) Activejet  
22 Dennis Vanendert (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
23 Andre Cardoso (Por) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team  
24 Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
25 Patrick Schelling (Swi) IAM Cycling  
26 Bart De Clercq (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
27 Marcel Wyss (Swi) IAM Cycling  
28 Stig Broeckx (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
29 Lukasz Owsian (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice  
30 José Mendes (Por) Bora-Argon 18  
31 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Argon 18  
32 Matej Mohoric (Slo) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team  
33 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek Factory Racing  
34 Jesus Del Pino (Spa) Burgus BH  
35 Marcos Jurado (Spa) Spain 0:08:24  
36 Javier Moreno (Spa) Movistar Team 0:08:30  
37 Johann Van Zyl (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka 0:14:16  
38 Vincent Jerome (Fra) Team Europcar 0:14:29  
39 Kristoffer Skjerping (Nor) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team 0:18:20  
40 Jesus Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team  
41 Philip Deignan (Irl) Team Sky  
42 Danny Pate (USA) Team Sky  
43 Eduard Prades Reverte (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:19:50  
44 David Arroyo (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
45 Bjorn Thurau (Ger) Bora-Argon 18 0:21:12  
46 Maxime Mederel (Fra) Team Europcar  
47 Damien Garcia (Fra) Team Froy Oslo 0:24:13  
48 Paul Voss (Ger) Bora-Argon 18 0:25:08  
49 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Cult Energy Pro Cycling  
50 Jesper Asselman (Ned) Team Roompot  
51 Jaco Venter (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
52 Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team  
53 Natnael Berhane (Eri) MTN - Qhubeka  
54 Romain Hardy (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
55 Jerome Coppel (Fra) IAM Cycling  
56 Morgan Lamoisson (Fra) Team Europcar

No comments: