Women Cycling: Solid Overall Victory in Santos for Scandolara

She's the winner!
Valentina Scandolara:
“It’s been wonderful these past few days and today all these people saw how great ORICA-AIS is. It was amazing.
Once again we kept the jersey and we got the win so I am really really happy.
We couldn’t break up the bunch but that was still alright because we have a great sprinter in Mel and we played that card controlling the race for the jersey and doing a great lead out during the last lap for Melissa.
There was many attacks but I was really confident because my teammates and I were always there."
Melissa Hoskins:
“We won three out of four stages and I am pretty happy to walk away with the last one. It’s been awesome to be back with the girls, I haven’t ridden with them since last year and they backed me in 100% today.
We wanted to keep the jersey, we did that, and we walked away with the stage win so we will be happy tonight.
It doesn’t happen often like that and it’s not often we can pull off a lead out sprint like that either. It just all fell into place.”
Sport director Gene Bates:
“It was a dream finish. It was really a team victory tonight. The girls rode their heart out to keep the jersey and for the sprint and they finished it off perfectly.”

1 Melissa Hoskins (Aus) Orica-Ais 1:05:19  
2 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda  
3 Valentina Scandolara (Ita) Orica-AIS  
4 Loren Rowney (Aus) Roxsolt  
5 Kimberley Wells (Aus) High5 Dream Team  
6 Emily Collins (NZl) SUVelo Racing 0:00:04  
7 Ruth Corset (Aus) Total Rush Hyster 0:00:05  
8 Lizzie Williams Aus) Orica-AIS  
9 Julia Kalotas 0:00:08  

10 Taryn Heather (Aus) Bycyle Superstore
Final GC
1 Valentina Scandolara (Ita) Orica-AIS 4:47:54  
2 Melissa Hoskins (Aus) Orica-Ais 0:00:06  
3 Loren Rowney (Aus) Roxsolt  
4 Ruth Corset (Aus) Total Rush Hyster 0:00:11  
5 Amanda Spratt (Aus) Orica-AIS 0:00:14  
6 Rachel Neylan (Aus) Building Champions Women's squad  
7 Jenelle Crooks (Aus) Specialized Securitor  
8 Miranda Griffiths (Aus) Holdens Womens Cycling Team  
9 Lizzie Williams (Aus) Orica-AIS 0:00:17  

10 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda 0:00:42  

No comments: