Cyclocross: Van der Poel again in Hoogstraten

Embedded image permalinkHeavy mud and sand. A ditch. Windy. Power and skill both required. And Mathiew Van der Poel has got then both. Kevin Pauwels was strong today, Lars Van der Haar looked good but his action became less effective lap by lap. Finally Van Aert arrived from behind and took 4th. A no story last race. 
I'm waiting for the overall results, then a sum up. 

Mathieu van der Poel:
“I know. Usually my second day isn’t as good as my first. Apparently I became stronger. It’s great, especially on a course like this. Ever since my training camp in Spain I’ve been enjoying splendid form and I still bear fruit from it.
I know I can benefit from my fast start but the wind and Kevin made it hard. He kept pushing on. I told myself to try one more lap and only continue if my lead grew. I rode a great lap and from there I had a mental boost. It was really hard in that sticky meadow".

Kevin Pauwels:
“If he rides like this weekend it’ll be hard. If he has a bad day then it’s possible. Two points isn’t much so anything can happen. I realized it already in the first lap. He took his foot from the gas but as soon as I came closer he accelerated."

Wout van Aert:
“I don’t know what the problem was. In traffic, I was held up a few times too. Apart from those laps I don’t think I lost much time. In the end, I saw Lars so then I wanted to finish on the podium. Mathieu started really fast. I never saw him riding".

Lars van der Haar:
"4th again, to bad I just missed out on podium today in SP Hoogstraten. No energy left! But happy I was good on such a hard course! #progress "

1 Mathieu Van der Poel (Ned) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team  
2 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team  
3 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team  
4 Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Team Giant - Alpecin  
5 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team  
6 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan - AA Drink Team  
7 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team  
8 Jens Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team  
9 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team  
10 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team  
11 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan - AA Drink Team  
12 Tim Merlier (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team  
13 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team  
14 Twan Van Den Brand (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team  
15 Niels Wubben (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team  
16 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team  
17 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team  
18 Gert-Jan Bosman (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continentaal Team  
19 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team  
20 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Colba - Superano Ham Cont. Cycling Team  
21 Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team  
22 Micki van Empel (Ned) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team  
23 Bart Hofman (Bel) Nodrugs Heroes Flanders  
24 Clement Lhotellerie (Fra)  
25 Javier Ruiz De Larrinaga Ibanez (Spa)  
26 Patrick Van Leeuwen (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team  
27 Kevin Cant (Bel) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team  
28 Dave De Cleyn (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW  
29 Severin Saegesser (Swi)  
30 Lubomir Petrus (Ce) BKCP - Powerplus Cycling Team  
31 Niels Koyen (Bel) CCN - Metalac Cycling team  
32 Yoann Corbihan (Fra)  
33 Tom Van Den Bosch (Bel) Hargroves Cycles  
34 Aitor Hernandez Gutierrez (Spa)  
35 Inigo Gomez Elorriaga (Spa)  
36 Radomir Simunek (Cze) Corendon - KwadrO Cycling Team  
37 Nicolas Le Besq (Fra)

No comments: