Jayco Herald Sun Tour: Caleb Ewan's Wonderful Win

Brenton Jones is the crashing rider :(

Caleb Ewan:
“A win is a win and they all feel good but it’s good to get a UCI (classified) win. I am aiming for five or six wins in UCI races this year so it’s good to get one on the board.
We were getting challenged coming down the back straight here but our guys were still pretty fresh and we hit out into the last corner and I came around in good position and won from there.
After you win one stage your confidence lifts a fair bit and I know I can beat all of the guys here in the sprint now so going into the next stage I will be a lot more confident.

Cameron Meyer:
“Every single team was attacking us and we just couldn’t get control of the race in the start, Today was favourable for us to have an easier day and let the other teams chase the break and have a go at the sprint with Caleb.”

1 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica GreenEdge 2:38:51  
2 Steele von Hoff (Aus) KordaMentha Australian Team  
3 Sam Witmitz (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts  
4 John Murphy (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team  
5 Brenton Jones (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling  
6 Massimo Graziato (Ita) African Wildlife Safaris Cycling Team  
7 James Mowatt (Aus) Data #3 Symantec Racing Team p/b Scody  
8 Graham Briggs (GBr) JLT Condor  
9 Michael Rice (Aus) Search2retain-health.com.au Cycling Team  
10 Tanner Putt (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team  
11 Tiziano Dall'Antonia (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
12 Felix English (Irl) JLT Condor  
13 Michael Hepburn (Aus) Orica GreenEdge  
14 Alexander Smyth (Aus) African Wildlife Safaris Cycling Team  
15 Patrick Shaw (Aus) Avanti Racing Team  
16 Matthew Brammeier (Irl) MTN - Qhubeka  
17 Marco Frapporti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
18 Alistair Donohoe (Aus) Search2retain-health.com.au Cycling Team  
19 Paul van der Ploeg (Aus) Charter Mason Giant Racing Team  
20 Grayson Napier (Aus) Navitas Satalyst Racing Team
1 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Orica GreenEdge 6:11:06  
2 Joseph Cooper (NZl) Avanti Racing Team 0:00:04  
3 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Avanti Racing Team 0:00:15  
4 Simon Clarke (Aus) Orica GreenEdge 0:00:19  
5 Lachlan Norris (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling 0:00:23  
6 Damien Howson (Aus) Orica GreenEdge  
7 Daniel Summerhill (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team 0:00:24  
8 Lachlan Morton (Aus) KordaMentha Australian Team 0:00:27  
9 Scott Davies (GBr) Great Britain National Team 0:00:28  
10 Mitchell Cooper (Aus) Navitas Satalyst Racing Team  
11 Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN - Qhubeka 0:00:29  
12 Robert Power (Aus) Jayco-AIS Under-23 National Team  
13 Chris Hamilton (Aus) KordaMentha Australian Team  
14 Michael Torckler (NZl) Team Budget Forklifts 0:00:30  
15 Grant Ferguson (GBr) Great Britain National Team  
16 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
17 Patrick Shaw (Aus) Avanti Racing Team  
18 Christopher Jones (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team 0:00:31  
19 Brendan Canty (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts  
20 Lucas Euser (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team 0:00:32

No comments: