Ruta del Sol 1a: Ligthart in the Light Spot (and crashes)

Embedded image permalink
Laurens Dam:
"Shit to start the season like this. Massive crash today. Feelin' bruised like hell"

Team Sky DS Dario Cioni:
“We had Nico Roche who went down in the first crash and Xabi Zandio was caught behind the second one but they are all okay. The crashes actually came on a fairly straightforward bit of road but the wind was coming from the side which always makes the peloton nervous. The second one was caused right at the front so that’s why so many people went down.
We knew the wind was going to be a factor on the last stretch of road so the safest place to be was at the front. The guys did a good job and because of that we’ve got Pete and Kosta both in classification jerseys.
Everyone is feeling good and ready to go this evening.”

TFR Press officer Tim Vanderjeugd (source CyclingTips)
“Frank came down in the second big crash inside the final ten kilometresIt was the one where the Sky and Ag2r riders collided. It was like a tsunami in the bunch… so many riders came down.
Frank’s leg was very sore afterwards… he actually couldn’t walk. He didn’t start the time trial, and went to hospital to have tests done.
Although it’s really sore, he doesn’t think there is a bone broken, although we need to get x-rays to make sure. 
He said that he thinks he knows what broken bones feel like and so he’s hopeful it’s not that. He was very sore, though – it was certainly worse than cuts.”

"Fränk Schleck sustained a deep muscular injury in quadricep & unknown when he will return; we wish him a speedy recovery."

1 Pim Ligthart (Ned) Lotto-Soudal 3:01:44  
2 Fabio Silvestre (Por) Trek Factory Racing 0:00:02  
3 Grega Bole (Slo) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
4 Michael van Staeyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
5 Tyler Farrar (USA) MTN-Qhubeka
6 Mirko Selvaggi (Ita) Wanty-Gobert
7 Edward Theuns (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
8 Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
9 Daniele Ratto (Ita) UnitedHealthcare
10 Sjoerd van Ginneken (Ned) Roompot
11 John Degenkolb (Ger) Giant-Alpecin
12 Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Sky
13 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM
14 Chris Froome (GBr) Sky
15 Tom Leezer (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
16 Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing
17 Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Roompot
18 Andrei Solommenikov (Rus) Rusvelo
19 Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo
20 Benat Intxausti (Spa) Movistar

No comments: