The Sun Shines On Meyer's Smiling Face

So Cameron Meyer has made it. The Jayco Herald Sun Tour is won. A second place atop Arthur’s Seat has been enough and all ORICAGreenEdege is smiling. Bravo! 
Only three riders have won both Tour Down Under and Sun Tour: Simon Gerrans, Stuart O’Grady and now Cameron Meyer.
I'm looking forward to see THIS Cemeron Meyer HERE, in the old Europe. It's about time!

Cameron Meyer:
“That was just ridiculously fast. I am relieved that it is over and happy to get the second (place). That’s a good effort on this hill and hats off to Bevin, he rode a great race and so did Avanti.  But my boys were really good, I only had to do 200m (work) of the whole race.
I find a lot of satisfaction in this (win). 
When I won Tour Down Under in 2011 it was out of my control. It came down to that last stage and Matt Goss was sprinting for seconds and if he had run top two I would have lost and there was nothing I could to.
Where as this (race), it was an actual hill top finish and it was something that I could control I really get a good satisfaction that I was able to be the strongest on the Bendigo stage and then second on Arthurs Seat to secure the win.”

DS Matt Wilson:
“We spoke about the fact the first most important part for the day was going to be the beginning. As soon as we got that right breakaway gone, the rest of the day was going to be easy.   We were on the front foot and the guys were in the box seat because the other teams had to work to control and in the end we had five guys going into the final climb when we were planning for scenarios where we were expecting one or two. It’s been a great end to our summer of cycling in Australia. We have been able to come here and get three stages and the overall so we are very very happy.”

Jayco Herald Sun Tour
04.02 Prologue - Melbourne › Melbourne CLARKE William  GC  CLARKE William 2.1
05.02 Stage 1 - Mt Macedon › Bendigo MEYER Cameron  GC MEYER Cameron 156.9
06.02 Stage 2 - Bendigo › Nagambie EWAN Caleb  GC MEYER Cameron 123.6
07.02 Stage 3 - Mitchelton Wines › Nagambie EWAN Caleb  GC MEYER Cameron 148.6
08.02 Stage 4 - Arthurs Seat › Arthurs Seat BEVIN Patrick 125.4
08.02 General Classification MEYER Cameron 0
Points Classification MEYER Cameron 0
Mountains Classification BAYLY Cameron 0
Youth Classification POWER Robert 0
Teams Classification Orica GreenEDGE

Final GC
1 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Orica GreenEdge 12:30:55  
2 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Avanti Racing Team 0:00:11  
3 Joseph Cooper (NZl) Avanti Racing Team 0:00:19  
4 Simon Clarke (Aus) Orica GreenEdge 0:00:21  
5 Damien Howson (Aus) Orica GreenEdge 0:00:35  
6 Robert Power (Aus) Jayco-AIS Under-23 National Team 0:00:37  
7 Brendan Canty (Aus) Team Budget Forklifts 0:00:39  
8 Lachlan Norris (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling 0:00:40  
9 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
10 Scott Davies (GBr) Great Britain National Team 0:00:41  
11 Mitchell Cooper (Aus) Navitas Satalyst Racing Team 0:00:45  
12 Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN - Qhubeka 0:00:46  
13 Grant Ferguson (GBr) Great Britain National Team 0:00:47  
14 Daniel Summerhill (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team 0:01:10  
15 Mark O'Brien (Aus) Avanti Racing Team 0:01:12  
16 Christopher Jones (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team 0:01:17  
17 Michael Torckler (NZl) Team Budget Forklifts 0:01:22  
18 Lachlan Morton (Aus) KordaMentha Australian Team 0:01:28  
19 Patrick Shaw (Aus) Avanti Racing Team 0:01:46  
20 Chris Hamilton (Aus) KordaMentha Australian Team 0:02:18

No comments: