Giro 10: Shit! Unespected Finale

Embedded image permalink
The finale you don't expect: no sprint and a GC change! 
Break from the gun: Boem, Busato, Gatto, Malaguti and Marangoni. 2'45" for the 5 leaders after 15 km. Lotto Soudal controls the peloton and you see ofte Trek in front.
The only climb of the day, Monte di Bartolo (4th cat) is 4.8 km long and 3.5% average.
Gap is 2'53" with 60 km to go, all in control. No fight at the first intermediate sprint.
17 km to go attack by Stefan Küng. Quickly caught. 17km to go, gap at 1’53”. 13 km to go, mechanical for Gatto.
Mechanical for Porte 3.7 km to go. 57” gap. Team mates help bringing him back to the peloton already launched toward the sprint but he's 1’31” behind.
Marangoni attacks 1.3km to go. Caught, Boem wins. Nizzolo wins the sprint in the peloton for 5th.
Embedded image permalinkBut the news of the day is that Porte lost around 40''.
Boem is the new Red Jersey. Really Team Sky bad day!

Nicola Boem:
”Unbelievable! I can’t find the words to describe this moment. Today all thought to finish with a classic massive sprint. I went in the break to show our team and sponsors. Then with 20km to go we still had more than two minutes and we began to believe it. Marangoni attacked 1km to go but I was smart to keep him 200 meters afar. When we came on the final straight I knew to be the fastest and it happened. It’s a huge win both for me and the whole team which I wish it’s only the first”. 

1 Nicola Boem (Ita) Bardiani CSF 4:26:16
2 Matteo Busato (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling
3 Alessandro Malaguti (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini 0:00:02
4 Alan Marangoni (Ita) Cannondale-Garmin Pro Cycling Team 0:00:04
5 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek Factory Racing 0:00:18
6 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida
7 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
8 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team Giant-Alpecin
9 Nicola Ruffoni (Ita) Bardiani CSF
10 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
Embedded image permalinkGC
1 Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo 42:58:09
2 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:00:03
3 Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Astana Pro Team 0:00:46
4 Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky 0:01:09
5 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:01:16
6 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:01:46
7 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Etixx - Quick-Step 0:02:10
Embedded image permalink8 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team 0:02:12
9 Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:02:20
10 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team 0:02:24


No comments: