Tour of Britain 8: Final(ly)

Embedded image permalinkEdvald Boasson Hagen:
"The team did a fantastic job today. The pace was quite high from the beginning but we stayed in control for most of the time. When the group went we kept watchful. I’m really happy to win the overall. It has been a fantastic week with good crowds and a good support, also in terms of our 5000 bikes campaign."

Embedded image permalinkElia Viviani:
"Today we were at the front and we worked a lot with Pete (Kennaugh) and Ian (Stannard) to keep the group together to do a sprint stage in London. After yesterday I saw I had good speed in the legs after a really hard week, so we thought we could win today. The guys did amazing work and have done all week for Wout and myself. We had a really strong team for this race.
(Ben) Swifty and Andy (Fenn) put me in a perfect position for the last corner. We saw the road go up and I knew we couldn't start the sprint too early. When I saw Greipel go I went directly on his left-hand side. He came across a little bit, a little bit and that edged me towards the barriers. I'm disappointed because it is better to win without this. He is a big champion and I've never seen him do this before. But we won in London and that is the main thing.
This week has been really good with lots of stages over 200 kilometres. It has given me a very good base for the worlds and I am really confident. I think the Tour of Britain is the perfect roads for the worlds this year."


1 Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky 1:50:16
2 Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Esp) Movistar Team
3 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Etixx - Quick Step
1 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) MTN - Qhubeka 34:52:52
2 Wouter Poels (Ned) Team Sky 0:00:13
3 Owain Doull (GBr) Team WIGGINS 0:00:42
4 Rasmus Guldhammer Pedersen (Den) Cult Energy Pro Cycling 0:00:43
5 Zdenek _tybar (Cze) Etixx - Quick Step 0:00:51
6 Rubén Fernandez Andujar (Esp) Movistar Team
7 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo
8 Dylan van Baarle (Ned) Team Cannondale - Garmin 0:00:53
9 Chris Anker Sørensen (Den) Tinkoff - Saxo 0:00:59
10 Xandro Meurisse (Bel) An Post - Chainreaction 0:01:02
11 Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Tinkoff - Saxo 0:01:14
12 Alex Peters (GBr) Great Britain 0:01:19
13 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto - Soudal 0:01:33
14 Rasmus Christian Quaade (Den) Cult Energy Pro Cycling 0:01:34
15 Bram Tankink (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo 0:02:00
16 Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Team Cannondale - Garmin 0:02:07
17 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Team Cannondale - Garmin 0:02:28
18 Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Team Sky 0:02:51
19 Stefan Denifl (Aut) IAM Cycling 0:03:32
20 Stef Clement (Ned) IAM Cycling 0:04:57
21 Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Great Britain 0:05:56
22 Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky 0:07:50
23 Stefan Keung (Sui) BMC Racing Team 0:08:24
24 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Etixx - Quick Step 0:08:35
25 Antwan Tolhoek (Ned) Tinkoff - Saxo 0:15:31

No comments: