A Belgian Break 9: Home is... where your backpack is (Gent, Baal and Pétange)

In Gent
Counting midnight 
First day of the new year. At the airport in Charleroi and feeling sad: "I don't want to go back to Italy! " I write "Great memories stay with me but you don't live on memories, at least I don't. I had a sweet dream tonight and occurred to me that happiness can be mesured by the gap between your dreams and your real life. 
Then I check my fb account and I find this poem:
"Quanto tempo a rincorrersi. 
Basterebbe fermarsi, guardarsi negli occhi, dirsi tutto. 
Per non perdersi. 
Che il mondo è pieno di emozioni perdute, 
di abbracci mancati, 
di parole taciute."
(by Angelo De Pascalis).
I try to translate it and it sounds like that:
"How many time spent on running after each other.
We should just stop, look each other in the eye, tell everything each other.
For not to get lost.
The world is full of missed emotions,
of missed hugs,
of never told words."
My favourite shoes last travel. But they have seen a lot of the world!
Yes indead. We should just tell everything each other but we don't dare and keep a painful  silence. A saying says if you don't ask the answer will be always no. 
On the boat
I have a look to the results of the cyclocross race in Baal. There is Angus Edmond on line and I'm curious to know how he did in Pétange. "It was great!" he says "I finished!! Crazy course!! Soooo hilly!".
It's time to get on the plane. What a long day it has been! Last night we spent the New Years Eve in Gent weith our host Sander and his friends and this morning we went back to the city center for a boat trip on the canals. It was icy cold but so beautiful!
Almost midnight, on a bus bringing me from Pisa to Florence. Very sleepy but feeling better: much more than memories I keep and dreams tell what you really want. I'll go for it, day by day, from now.


Elite Women
1 Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm - BKCP 0:45:58  
2 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:18  
3 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Team 0:00:47  
4 Sophie De Boer (Ned) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team 0:01:02  
5 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) MRM-Avalon Pro Cycling 0:01:06  
6 Jolien Verschueren (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:40  
Bus to Florence: 
7 Loes Sels (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:15  
8 Elle Anderson (USA) 0:02:33  
9 Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) AA Drink-Kalas Cycling Team 0:03:10  
10 Mical Dyck (Can) 0:03:26  
11 Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned) 0:04:32  
12 Pauline Delhaye (Fra) 0:04:48  
13 Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe) 0:06:08  
14 Alba Teruel Ribes (Spa) 0:06:11  
15 Linda Ter Beek (Ned) WSV Emmen 0:06:17  
16 Ceylin Alvarado (Ned) 0:07:29  
17 Allison Arensman (USA) 0:08:50  
18 Hannah Arensman (USA) 0:08:53  
19 Katrien Thijs (Bel) Kleur Op Maat cyclingteam 0:09:22  
Embedded image permalink
Sanne Cant
20 Delia Debbis (GBr) 0:09:32  
21 Anna Schappert (Can) 0:09:33  
22 Nathalie Redmond (USA) 0:09:46  
23 Sofia Revert Rodriguez (Spa) -1 Lap  
24 Kristin Endres (Ger)  
25 Marthe Truyen (Bel)  
26 Nele Van Maldeghem (Bel) FUJI Medista MTB Team - Neeroeteren -2 Laps  
27 Claire-Jane Beaumont (GBr)  
28 Aurélie Vermeir (Bel) VC Meetjesland Knesselare  
29 Ruta Brakovska (Pol)  
DNF Lisa Jacobs (Aus)  
DNF Dagnija Auzane (Pol)
Wout van Aert
Wout van Aert in the new jersey
Elite Men
1 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team 1:00:39  
2 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan - AA Drink Team 0:01:13  
3 Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:15  
4 Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:01:18  
5 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:01:19  
6 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:01:21  
7 Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Team Giant - Alpecin  
8 Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:36  
9 Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Era - Murprotec 0:02:01  
10 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:02:10  
11 Diether Sweeck (Bel) Era - Murprotec 0:02:19  
12 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:27  
13 Julien Taramarcaz (Sui) Era - Murprotec 0:02:33  
14 Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team 0:02:49  
15 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP - Corendon 0:02:57  
16 Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:03:07  
17 Joeri Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team 0:03:16  
18 Tim Merlier (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team 0:03:56  
19 Twan Van Den Brand (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team 0:04:11  
20 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:04:22  
21 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) BKCP - Corendon 0:05:08  
22 Niels Wubben (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:05:51  
23 Kevin Cant (Bel) Era - Murprotec 0:06:02  
24 Michael Boros (Cze) BKCP - Corendon 0:07:15  
25 Ivan Gicquiau (Fra) -1 Lap  
26 Nicolas Samparisi (Ita)  
27 Jeremy Martin (Can)  
28 Miguel Fillaut (Aus) -2 Laps  
29 Garry Millburn (Ger) -3 Laps  
30 Yannick Mayer (Ger)  
31 Lorenzo Samparisi (Ita)  
32 Fabian Obrist (Sui) -4 Laps  
DNF Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team  
DNF Patrick Van Leeuwen (Ned) Orange Babies Cycling Team  
DNF Radomir Simunek (Cze) Era - Murprotec  
DNF Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan - AA Drink Team  
DNF Florent Ligney (Fra)

Angus Edmond in Pétange
Elite Men
1 MEISEN Marcel GER 57:22
2 MOUREY Francis FRA 00:58
3 PAPRSTKA Tomas CZE 01:22
4 NIPL Vojtech CZE 02:03
5 HUYS Stijn BEL 02:10
6 MARECAILLE Antonin FRA 02:15
7 DE CLEYN Dave BEL 02:28
8 DRUMM Felix GER 02:34
9 GIL Mariusz POL 02:44
10 VANDEVELDE Ruben BEL 02:51
11 VAN COMPERNOLLE Kenneth BEL 03:03
12 GRUNER Yannick GER 03:03
13 PETRUS Lubomir CZE 03:18
14 SPRAGG James GBR 03:31
15 HOFMAN Bart BEL 03:44
16 MALÍK Michal CZE 03:49
17 DIAS DOS SANTOS Vincent LUX 03:56
18 HELMIG Christian LUX 04:08
19 NISSEN Sören DEN 04:59
20 KYZIVAT Vladimir CZE 05:20
21 BAUSCH Gusty LUX 05:27
22 TURCHI Luc LUX 05:41
23 EBERL Filip CZE 06:22
24 VAN LAER Ward BEL 07:52
25 VAN DEN HAM Michael CAN 08:04
26 EDMOND Angus NZ 08:41
27 PIERRON Raphaël FRA 09:40
Elite Women
1 DE JONG Thalita NED 37:20
2 MAJERUS Christine LUX 01:31
4 VERHOEVEN Suzanne NED 04:40
5 KLOPPENBURG Margriet DEN 05:45
6 VAXILLAIRE Stéphanie FRA 06:28
7 REES Edie Antonia LUX 06:58
8 GODART Suzie LUX 07:44
9 SCHWAGER Mara GER 08:30
10 VARDAROS Christine USA

No comments: