Crashy and Hot: TDU and San Luis 2

Embedded image permalinkDown under a crashy finale and the bonus seconds secured Jay McCarthy stage and jersey. Of course he was in the right place at the right moment, and well played his cards. 
Embedded image permalinkIn San Luis Fernando Gaviria was expected and he didn't miss the date. In Argentina there is also Alexis Vuillermoz, not happy so far with his performance and complaining about the heat.
I saw nothing of it because I was eating a good home made pizza a my parents'. There are priorities in life.

Jay McCarthy:
“It’s always good to start the season here is Australia and to finish it with a victory was really good,. I am glad the team gave me the chance to go for the stage and I am happy it paid off in the end. I was hoping for a top five overall at this race this year. I know I had some good training coming in and I felt like I had some good form, so to come out with the victory today, I am not done for the week and hopefully I can keep working hard and go for goal and hopefully even be on the podium at the end of the week.”

Simon Gerrans:
“The guys rode the perfect race for us. They dragged that first break back so we could pick up the first intermediate sprint seconds and then Adam slipped away but we were able to pick up some more seconds in the next sprint. Coming into the finish we were exactly where we needed to be. We were really well placed and Daryl was just about to go around the group and open up before there was a touch of wheels in front. All is not lost, we picked up a valuable five seconds on the road but I’m obviously bitterly disappointed that we didn’t finish off the teamwork by winning the stage.”

Fernando Gaviria:
“I’m very happy! The team worked in the beginning of the stage hoping other teams will come along, but as it didn’t happen we didn’t do it anymore, especially as it was very hot out there. After we stopped pulling, other teams came to the forefront, and in the last 20 kilometers, even though the gap was still big, Davide Bramati asked us to work hard, which we did. To me is something magical to win again in Villa Mercedes, one year after that victory which helped me get a World Tour contract. This victory is for my family and for the team, which has been by my side since joining it. It’s a huge joy knowing I can ride and win against riders like Sagan and Viviani. This is why I train every day and give 100% all the time”
Alexis Vuillermoz:
"Les sensations ne sont pas brillantes avec cette chaleur, j'espère que ça ira mieux en montagne. Ma 12ème place du jour acquise prudemment dans le sprint final ne reflète malheureusement pas ma forme du jour. Merci à l'équipe qui m'a bien protégé et m'a permise d'éviter les chutes et les cassures! ["The feeling isn't great with this heat, I hope it'll be better in the mounatin. Unfortunately my 12 place of today proudly conquered in the final sprint doesn't reflect my shape of the day. Thanks to my team that took care of me and allowed me to avoid crashes and falls!"].

Peter Sagan:
"Cool! It was very hot today, in the end I never lost Gaviria's wheel. But today he had three more gears and eventually he won by three bike lengths."

1 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff 3:26:40
2 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre–Merida
3 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team
4 Danilo Wyss (Sui) BMC Racing Team
5 Petr Vakoc (Cze) Etixx–Quick-Step
6 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Cannondale
7 Juan José Lobato Del Valle (Esp) Team Movistar
8 Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky
9 Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ
10 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) LottoNL–Jumbo
11 Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek–Segafredo
12 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
13 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Giant–Alpecin
14 David Tanner (Aus) IAM Cycling
15 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Dimension Data
16 Simon Clarke (Aus) Cannondale
17 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale
18 Floris Gerts (Ned) BMC Racing Team
19 Patrick Shaw (Aus) UniSA-Australia
20 Georg Preidler (Aut) Giant–Alpecin
1 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff 6:50:43
2 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre–Merida 0:00:04
3 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica–GreenEdge 0:00:05
4 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:00:06
5 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Rsa) 0:00:09
6 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Cannondale 0:00:10
7 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) LottoNL–Jumbo
8 Juan José Lobato Del Valle (Esp) Team Movistar
9 Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ
10 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Giant–Alpecin
1 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica–GreenEdge
1 Manuele Boaro (Ita) Tinkoff
1 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff 6:50:43
1 Cannondale Pro Cycling Team 20:32:39
2 BMC Racing Team
3 Orica Greenedge
Tour de San Luis
1 Fernando Gaviria Rendon (Col) Etixx - Quick-Step 4:23:54
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team
3 Elia Viviani (Ita) Italy
4 Eduard Michael Grosu (Rom) Nippo - Vini Fantini
5 Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Arg) Team Jamis
6 Mauro Abel Richeze (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos
7 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec
8 Jason Lowndes (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling
9 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) Italy
10 Marco Canola (Ita) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
11 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre - Merida
12 Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
13 Miguel Bryon (USA) Holowesko / Citadel p/b Hincapie Sportswear
14 Roderick Asconegui (Uru) (Uruguay)
15 Leonardo Fabio Duque (Col) Delko Marseille Provence KTM
16 Carlos Eduardo Alzate Escobar (Col) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
17 Enzo Moyano (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos
18 Andre Fernando S. Martins Cardoso (Por) Cannondale Pro Cycling
19 Boris Vallee (Bel) Fortuneo - Vital Concept
20 Jan Carlos Arias Perez (Cub) (Cuba)
1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Etixx - Quick-step 4:47:37
2 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Etixx - Quick-step 0:00:10
3 Rodrigo Contreras (Col) Etixx - Quick-step
4 Lukasz Wisniowski (Pol) Etixx - Quick-step
5 Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:18
6 Adriano Malori (Ita) Movistar Team
7 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
8 Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar Team
9 Daniel Moreno (Spa) Movistar Team
10 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:27

No comments: