TDU 5: Richie's Rule on Willunga Hill

Embedded image permalinkOnce could be fortune, twice is class, three time is legend. On Willunga Hill, the most iconic place of Australian cycling, the Richie's Rule proved true. New team, new mates, same winner. What should I say? Bravo! and I'm sorry I didn't see it.
Bravo also to Team Sky Sergio Henao who finished 2nd and is 3rd in the overall classification. Simon Gerrans kept the jersey and is getting used to that beautiful Ocra. Lets see if he can bring it home. In White there is Jay McCarthy but it's nice to see Louis Meintjes in 5th positions. Finally, Domenico Pozzovivo isn't too far from the GC top and I'm glad.
Embedded image permalink
Richie Porte:
"To be honest I never expected that one. Obviously it didn't go to plan yesterday with a time gap on the line but then today the BMC guys were absolutely incredible. They backed me here which is nice and I've only just started in this team. It's always nice to win in Australia and on top of Willunga it's three in a row. The crowds are just incredible. The Australian public get behind this race so much. It does feel like riding the Tour de France up this climb, it's an incredible feeling. I'm happy with how it's gone. I didn't target this race so it's just nice to get the first win in the BMC jersey. Full credit to Rohan. He said yesterday that he didn't have great legs and was willing to sacrifice himself. He's been a brilliant teammate this week and to be honest the whole BMC crew has been fantastic. It's not easy to change teams. BMC has really supported me and embraced me and I'm really happy."
Embedded image permalink
Rohan Dennis:
"I spoke to Allan and I spoke to Richie and I said I don't think I'm going to be able to hold on to third. Our best bet was to put the leadership with Richie for at least a stage win here and whatever comes with that. I probably am not in the same shape as last year. I think that slight different lead up with the hour record last year maybe gave me a bit more punch. I'm fitter in some ways but not in others."
“One stage to go and anything can happen but I tell you what, I’d prefer to go into that stage in front rather than behind,” Gerrans said of tomorrow's race finale.

Simon Gerrans:
“This is the toughest stage of the race and where the GC is generally decided each year so if I’ve come out in front, hopefully that’s enough. I thought if I just kept my cool and ride my own pace, even when they attacked me in the final, it should be enough to hang on and I was just right. You never discount Richie Porte, especially on a finish like that, that he obviously loves. That’s three from the last three for Richie here. But my team were again there for me all day today and they delivered me in the perfect position and as fresh as possible into the final climb."

Jay McCarthy:
"Today I gave everything, it was a tough day and I lost a few seconds on the final climb, dropping into fourth place in the overall, nevertheless I can be proud of the way my teammates raced
and I think I did a good job today, although of course I would have liked to be on the podium. In any case, it's been a nice week and I am very happy I could be the leader of the team, and finish in the top five in three stages as well as in the top 5 of the overall classification. Anyway tomorrow we still give our best in the last stage."

1 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team 3:34:16  
2 Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky 0:00:06  
3 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale 0:00:09  
4 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre–Merida 0:00:17  
5 Rafael Valls Ferri (Esp) Lotto Soudal  
6 Ruben Fernandez Andujar (Esp) Team Movistar  
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale  
8 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica–GreenEdge  
9 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling  
10 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Cannondale  
1 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica–GreenEdge 17:16:31  
2 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:00:09  
3 Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky 0:00:11  
4 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff 0:00:20  
5 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale  
6 Ruben Fernandez Andujar (Esp) Team Movistar 0:00:28  
7 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale  
8 Rafael Valls Ferri (Esp) Lotto Soudal 0:00:36  
9 Steve Morabito (Sui) FDJ 0:00:49  
10 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Cannondale 0:00:50  
11 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre–Merida 0:00:52  
12 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Dimension Data 0:00:56  
13 Jesús Herrada (Esp) Team Movistar 0:00:58  
14 Chris Hamilton (Aus) UniSA-Australia  
15 Luis Leon Sanchez Gil (Esp) Astana 0:01:02  
16 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:01:03  
17 Louis Meintjes (Rsa) Lampre–Merida 0:01:04  
18 Egor Silin (Rus) Team Katusha 0:01:11  
19 Tiago Machado (Por) Team Katusha  
20 George Bennett (NZl) LottoNL–Jumbo 0:01:15  
Points classification
1 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica–GreenEdge 51 pts
2 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff 46  
3 Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky 31  
4 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team 27  
5 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale 26  
6 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre–Merida 26  
7 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica–GreenEdge 23  
8 Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky 23  
9 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek–Segafredo 23  
10 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team 22  
11 Rafael Valls Ferri (Esp) Lotto Soudal 21  
12 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Rsa) 18  
13 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 17  
14 Ruben Fernandez Andujar (Esp) Team Movistar 16  
15 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Cannondale 16  
16 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Team Dimension Data 14  
17 Alexis Gougeard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 13  
18 Wouter Wippert (Ned) Cannondale 13  
19 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) LottoNL–Jumbo 12  
20 Danilo Wyss (Sui) BMC Racing Team 12  
Mountains classification
1 Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky 38 pts
2 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team 28  
3 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale 20  
Young rider classification
1 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff 17:16:51  
2 Ruben Fernandez Andujar (Esp) Team Movistar 0:00:08  
3 Patrick Bevin (NZl) Cannondale 0:00:30  
4 Chris Hamilton (Aus) UniSA-Australia 0:00:38  
5 Louis Meintjes (Rsa) Lampre–Merida 0:00:44  
Team classification
1 Cannondale Pro Cycling Team 51:52:09  
2 Movistar Team 0:00:09  
3 Etixx - Quick Step 0:01:12  
4 Team Katusha 0:01:32  
5 Lotto Soudal 0:01:49  
6 Astana Pro Team 0:02:52  
7 Lampre - Merida 0:03:02  
8 UNISA Australia 0:03:40  
9 Drapac Professional Cycling 0:04:02  
10 Ag2r La Mondiale 4:00:00  
11 Team Sky 0:05:57  
12 Trek - Segafredo 0:06:38  
13 Fdj 0:07:36  
14 Dimension Data 0:08:52  
15 Team Giant - Alpecin 0:09:36  
16 Team Lotto Nl - Jumbo 0:10:07  
17 Orica Greenedge 0:10:32  
18 BMC Racing Team 0:12:50  
19 Iam Cycling 0:21:49  
20 Tinkoff 0:22:33

No comments: