Tour de San Luis 7 and Final

Embedded image permalink
I don't like this race. Did I say it already? I have never liked it and every year I'm surprised because world tour riders get beated by continental and even profesional riders you will never see in a top race. 
There we go again: Dayer Quintana won the overall while his brother Nairo is 3rd. 2nd is Sepulveda. Who? indead.
Embedded image permalinkThen you have a long list of riders you will never see again in a top race final GC with the only exception of Rafal Majka.
You'll say: ok Tour de San Luis ISN'T a top race so there aren't top riders. BUT it isn't true! Top riders are racing but they get no result. 
You don't see this in Majorca Challenge for exemple. The level is high and even if top riders aren't in their top shape... they are still better than obscure riders from a Continental team. I used to get angry with Andy Schleck because in Majorca Challenge he was always awfully unfit but you could  regularly find the others in the top ten.
Also: riders from South America who win in San Luis doesn't get a serious contract with a better team after it. Don't name Gaviria because he's one against many and many cases. In San Luis unlike in Tour Down Under riders don't even get UCI points. So why do they go there? 
The weather is good, temperature are nice but race jury, staff and local riders not so, as we know from comments about uncorrect, rude or dangerous behaviours.

1 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) Italy 2:36:51
2 Elia Viviani (Ita) Italy
3 Jason Lowndes (Aus) Drapac
4 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tiknoff
5 Max Richeze (Arg) Etixx-QuickStep
6 Mauro Richeze (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos
7 Grega Bole (Slo) Nippo-Vini Fantini
8 Carloe Alzate (Col) UnitedHealthcare
9 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Androni-Sidermec
10 Julian Paulo Gaday (Arg) Los Matanceros  
1 Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 22:52:12
2 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Fortuneo Vital Concept 0:00:20
3 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:35
4 Miguel A. Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team 0:00:38
5 Ilia Koshevoy (Blr) Lampre-Merida 0:01:42
6 Rodolfo Torres (Col) Androni Giocattoli 0:02:15
7 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:02:31
8 Janier Acevedo (Col) Team Jamis 0:02:44
9 Roman Villalobos (CRc) Costa Rica 0:02:59
10 Andre Cardoso (Por) Cannondale 0:03:31

No comments: