Jayco Herald Sun Tour Sum Up

Embedded image permalink
Chris Froome:
"It's an amazing feeling. I put in a lot of hard yards this winter, which obviously hasn't been easy with a new family starting and everything back home. A massive thank you to my family for giving me the support I need to do this job.
Also a massive thank you to the team. They gave me the all clear today, second time up Arthurs Seat. There was a little bit of an attack and I went for the King of the Mountain points and sat on the Avanti rider who attacked. The guys behind said "you're in a perfect place to win the stage, go for it Froomey. Kennaugh is an amazing rider. He's started the season off really well, winning Cadel's race. He had a good day today but he also gave me the all clear from behind. Massive thanks to Pete for doing that."

Peter Kennaugh:
"It was 120km of pretty much flat-out racing all the way. It was tough and hot out there. I'm a bit gutted not to win. Froomey won and he was the strongest probably throughout the race anyway so he deserves the win. I'm really happy with a stage win and the way I've started the season. Happy days for Froomey today and happy days for the team all round.
From a team perspective it worked out perfectly. Once Froomey got the King of the Mountains which was our aim he sat on (Cooper) and we just sat behind at 30 or 40 seconds to make sure he didn't take over my second on GC. Then I just protected my position all the way to the finish."


Prologue - Melbourne › Melbourne CLARKE William GC CLARKE William
Stage 1 - Healesville › Healesville KENNAUGH Peter GC KENNAUGH Peter
Stage 2 - Yarra Glen › Moe EWAN Caleb  GC KENNAUGH Peter
Stage 3 - Traralgon › Inverloch MURPHY John GC  KENNAUGH Peter
Stage 4 - Arthurs Seat › Arthurs Seat FROOME Christopher

1 Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky 12:53:00
2 Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Team Sky 0:00:29
3 Damien Howson (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge 0:01:01
4 Jack Bobridge (Aus) Trek – Segafredo 0:01:04
5 Jack Haig (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge 0:01:14
6 Jonathan Clarke (Aus) United Healthcare Pro Cycling 0:01:15
7 Robbie Hucker (Aus) Avanti IsoWhey Cycling Team 0:01:20
8 Christopher Hamilton (Aus) KordaMentha - Australian National Team 0:01:23
9 Anthony Giacoppo (Aus) Avanti IsoWhey Cycling Team 0:01:32
10 Dion Smith (NZl) ONE Pro Cycling
11 Patrick Shaw (Aus) Avanti IsoWhey Cycling Team 0:01:43
12 Steve Lampier (GBr) Condor JLT 0:01:51
13 Nathan Earle (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling 0:02:01
14 Adam Phelan (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling 0:02:02
15 Alistair Donohoe (Aus) KordaMentha - Australian National Team
16 James Oram (NZl) ONE Pro Cycling 0:02:12
17 Lachlan Norris (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling 0:02:13
18 Jai Hindley (Aus) Attaque Team Gusto 0:02:14
19 Benjamin Dyball (Aus) KordaMentha - Australian National Team 0:02:18
20 Michael Storer (Aus) KordaMentha - Australian National Team 0:02:24
21 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Nippo Vini Fantini

No comments: