Tirreno-Adriatico 6: Van Avermaet

Sorry, today I went riding my bike :)

But I know the story:  there was a break-away - Selvaggi, Agnoli, Pirazzi, Mihaylov, Zurlo and Vilela  - it got caught 25 km to go.
At the intermediate sprint 15 km to go Sagan attacked for the points but he kept going and brought away a new griup including Bennati, Gatto, Van Avermaet, Gaviria, Stybar, Trentin and Kwiatkowski.
3 km to go only Sagan, Gatto, Van Avermaet, Stybar and Kwiatkowski were still ahead. At the sprint in this group Greg van Avermaet won stage and Jersey. On Peter Sagan who no doubt isn't happy.

Greg Van Avermaet:
“I tried to save myself for the finish because we had only Tejay and Caruso in the group behind so it was not the best situation. The last ITT is not my speciality. 10k is pretty long for me. I’m better in prologues but I’ll try. It’s a bit of a strange situation that I’m going for the GC in Tirreno.” 
"It was a really nice finish for me as it was a little bit uphill. When I saw the parcours I knew it was a good stage for me. We tried to go for the bonus seconds on the first lap of the circuit and then we kept on going. The riders from Tinkoff and Etixx-Quick-Step worked really hard together to keep the gap on the peloton and I could save myself a little bit because we had Tejay van Garderen and Damiano Caruso behind us. I just tried to go as hard as possible in the sprint and it was just enough to beat Sagan. It's hard to beat him so I'm happy I could do it. I know I'm strong in a finish like this and I timed my sprint pretty well. I'll try to do a good ITT tomorrow but it's not my specialty. I'm in good form and I hope to do a good time. It's a bit strange that I'm up here on GC for Tirreno-Adriatico but we have the opportunity so I will try to go for the win here."

Tejay Van Garderen:
"Luckily I didn't go down but I had to take a wheel change and couldn't quite get back with the peloton. Taylor Phinney and Alessandro De Marchi did a great job of trying to pace me back but sometimes that's just how it goes. I'll stay motivated and focused for the ITT tomorrow. Hopefully Greg can record a really good one. It would be amazing for him to win Tirreno-Adriatico. I don't think anyone would have predicted this as the situation we would be in at this stage of the race with the events of yesterday and now today. But at the end it's a huge success and I'll stay focused for tomorrow and for the rest of the season."

Reinardt van Rensburg:
"I am Ok after going down hard in the final today. Not too many roasties, but hip little bit banged up. Live to fight another day."

Peter Sagan:
“It was a lot of work for my team today. I’m very happy with my ride for the intermediate sprint – we did well. Etixx-Quick Step tried to help us – they were working on the front a lot and also Michael Kwiatkowski was working well. For the final the group was behind us – I had to start to do my sprint and I tried to do my best. Thank you again to my team. These are the first races – I’m looking forward. I’m fully motivated. A race is a race and I want to be at the front and I want to do my best, for myself and for the team. I have to try, and I want to do my best. I wasn’t disappointed with second because we did a good ride and I was happy how the race went – we were in the final breakaway, I took some points, some seconds in front of the other GC riders, and that’s enough. I stepped up in the GC so it’s a good result.”

Daniele Bennati:
“We did a really good job, deciding to go for the bonus sprint and then go full gas. Etixx-Quick Step had the same idea as us so it was a good decision, but in the end we can be a bit disappointed with the result as Van Avermaet was fresher after.”


1 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 4:34:14
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team
3 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky 0:00:02
4 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:04
5 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge 0:00:07
6 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team
7 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre - Merida
8 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Soudal
9 Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF
10 Moreno Hofland (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
11 Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Cannondale Pro Cycling
12 Paul Voss (Ger) Bora-Argon 18
13 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling
14 Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec
15 Wouter Poels (Ned) Team Sky
16 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team
17 Pello Bilbao (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
18 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge
19 Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Giant-Alpecin
20 Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Team Sky
1 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 20:30:43
2 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:07
3 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team 0:00:08
4 Bob Jungels (Lux) Etixx - Quick-Step 0:00:21
5 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Etixx - Quick-Step
6 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:00:28
7 Sébastien Reichenbach (Swi) FDJ
8 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff Team 0:00:30
9 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky 0:00:31
10 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:00:34
11 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team
12 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:36
13 Daniel Moreno (Spa) Movistar Team
14 Wouter Poels (Ned) Team Sky 0:00:40
15 Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Team Sky
16 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge 0:00:44
17 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:48
18 Salvatore Puccio (Ita) Team Sky 0:00:56
19 Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:57
20 Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:00:58
21 Maxime Monfort (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:01:05
22 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:09
23 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team 0:01:14
24 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data 0:01:18
25 Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Sprandi Polkowice 0:01:23
26 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:01:32
27 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - Merida 0:01:45
28 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) IAM Cycling 0:01:53
29 Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-GreenEdge 0:02:03
30 Paul Voss (Ger) Bora-Argon 18 0:02:04
1 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team 36 pts
2 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 22
3 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step 20
1 Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Bora-Argon 18 11 pts
2 Federico Zurlo (Ita) Lampre - Merida 10
3 Valerio Conti (Ita) Lampre - Merida 8
1 Bob Jungels (Lux) Etixx - Quick-Step 20:31:04
2 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-GreenEdge 0:00:23
3 Natnael Berhane (Eri) Dimension Data 0:02:07
1 Etixx - Quick-Step 60:45:14
2 Team Sky 0:00:06
3 Astana Pro Team 0:00:17
4 Movistar Team 0:00:19
5 AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:05
6 BMC Racing Team 0:01:47
7 Tinkoff Team 0:03:05
8 Dimension Data 0:03:12
9 Lotto Soudal 0:03:17
10 Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:03:45
11 Androni Giocattoli - Sidermec 0:04:24
12 IAM Cycling 0:05:16
13 FDJ 0:05:39
14 Bora-Argon 18 0:06:15
15 Orica-GreenEdge 0:08:59
16 CCC Sprandi Polkowice 0:09:21
17 Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:09:47
18 Trek-Segafredo 0:10:50
19 Team Katusha 0:13:42
20 Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:15:23
21 Lampre - Merida 0:17:32
22 Team Giant-Alpecin 0:31:05
23 Bardiani CSF 0:34:21

No comments: