Spanish National Championship: Anna Sanchis and Ion Izagirre win the Time Trial Title

Ion Izagirre:
Photo published for Campeonatos de España: Ion Izagirre gana el título contrarreloj por primera vez"Following my victory in Suisse, I was really willing to come to this course and go for the win. I knew I could do well, but I was completely conscious that this was a different story from last week: quite longer, always demanding - you had to stay calm and distribute your energies well during the course. The work by the team with the time gaps was really good - I was having information all the time, knowing that 'Castro', 'Bala' and me were doing pretty equal. Once we got over the Revoltes climb and coming into the final 6, 7 kilometers, I took my gamble: giving 100% without knowing if it would be a win or a silver medal. Fortunately, it all went well.
I've got that feeling that this one really is my best season in the pro scene. Ever since the start of the year, I got to keep this regularity over all courses, doing well no matter the terrain. That makes you incredibly confident and gives you a reason to keep working hard, so you can keep success coming. Canyon's new bike has been completely satisfying: the new materials are really good, which is amazing considering the amounts of work they have always put to bring us the best quality. Claiming wins from the first race with this Speedmax has been a result of that. Now TDF and the Games, you say? Well', one would have to ask Eusebio and Javier Mínguez [Spain's national team coach]; I'd like to ride both of them, but it's their choice."

1 Anna Sanchis (Spa) Wiggle High5 0:27:59  
2 Gloria Rodriguez (Spa) Lointek 0:00:37  
3 Margarita Victoria Garcia (Spa) Bizkaia - Durango 0:00:44  
4 Sheyla Gutierrez (Spa) Cylance Pro Cycling 0:00:47  
5 Eider Merino (Spa) Lointek 0:00:58  
6 Lourdes Oyarbide (Spa) Bizkaia-Durango 0:01:07  
7 Belen Lopez (Spa) Lointek 0:01:19  
8 Irene Usabiaga (Spa) 0:01:23  
9 Ainara Elbusto (Spa) 0:01:26  
10 Sandra Trevilla (Spa) 0:01:48
1. Ion Izagirre
2. Jonathan Castroviejo
3. Alejandro Valverde

No comments: