Procycling: Tirreno-Adriatico 6

86 km to go the peloton has to stop because of a closed level crossing. Meanwhile the break goes far away but from the Jury the order comes to wait, just before the KOM. Then the chase starts again and the gap is jus 35'' at the first passage on the finish line.
The break includes: Ben Gastauer (AG2R La Mondiale), Pavel Kochetkov (Katusha-Alpecin), Davide Ballerini (Androni-Giocattoli), Raffaello Bonusi (Androni-Giocattoli), Alan Marangoni (Nippo-Vini Fantini)... and there is a little climb in the last kms. Would the sprinters endure it?
8 km to go Nibali attacks, but Jungels reacts.
Felline attacks and bring away a small group including Cattaneo and Terpstra. They joins the rest of the break, Gastauer and Ballerini.
2 km to go they are all caught. 
It's a sprint, and Gaviria wins on Sagan and Stuyven.

Fernando Gaviria:
“I’m happy to take this victory, it’s a well-deserved success for our squad after a week during which we worked and fought hard. I knew it was the last opportunity for the sprinters and to get another win at Tirreno-Adriatico makes me very happy. This victory gives me confidence for the upcoming races.
When Sagan attacked, I followed him and thanks to the fact Niki was in the front I could stay relaxed on his wheel. In the final 200 meters, I kept my eyes on him and when I noticed he wanted to open his sprint, I decided to move first. I had good legs and enough power to keep a small gap, even if he was coming back really strongly. He is one of the best riders in the peloton and to beat him it’s an honor.”


1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors 4:09:31
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
4 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
5 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal
6 Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky
7 Scott Thwaites (GBr) Dimension Data
8 Eduard Grosu (Rom) Nippo - Vini Fantini
9 Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ
10 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Soudal
1 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 25:44:28
2 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:00:50
3 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:01:06
4 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:01:15
5 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:01:19
6 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 0:01:23
7 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac 0:01:30
8 Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:32
9 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 0:01:37
10 Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha-Alpecin 0:01:59

No comments: