Procycling - Giro 9: Blockhaus

Quintana goes
The giant gave a shake. Finally a stage that was worth to be watched, and I did. Yep I knew that Bob Jungels was riding in Pink, but we were all aware that today things were going to change, and they did. 
A big climb, a serious montain, the first true uphill finish put a end to the Giro boredom. 
Sadly a crash put a end to Team Sky's ambitions (again). A police motorbike was parked beside the road, a rider hit it and 15 went down, including several Sky's. Landa and Thomas immediately looked bad, the Spaniard had to sink while the Welsch kept fighting all the way up. Because unfortunately it happened at the foot of the famous Blockhaus, the hardest climb of this edition of the Giro probably. 
Bob Jungels lost contact from the front group to mantain a regular pace: a smart move. The climb itself made the first selection: Quintana, Nibali, Anacona, Amador, Kruiswijk, Pinot, Dumoulin, Pozzovivo and Mollema were left in front. Quintana attacking made a second and more drastic selection: only Nibali and Pinot could follow. 
But Quintana kept attacking, two, three times... on the hardest of the climb. And Nibali had to let him go. Pinot responded but the gap open and big, increasing. Mollema and Dumoulin arrived from behind, passing Nibali and joining Pinot. That climb is all demanding. Mollema was suffering, got dropped, kept going. Pinot had taken a breath and jumped ahead. 
Quintana had won solo. Then Pinot came. Then Dumoulin. Then Mollema, the stubborn Dutch, then Nibali, head down. But that's hard, that's steep and neither Quintana had celebrated on the line...


1 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 3:44:51
2 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:00:24
3 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb
4 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:41
5 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 0:01:00
6 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:18
7 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team 0:02:02
8 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 0:02:14
9 SĂ©bastien Reichenbach (Swi) FDJ 0:02:28
10 Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac 0:02:35
1 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 42:06:09
2 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:00:28
3 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:00:30
4 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:51
5 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 0:01:10
6 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:28
7 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 0:02:28
8 Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac 0:02:45
9 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team 0:02:53
10 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:03:06

No comments: